DAY 1 - Belfast to London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Whitehall
December 21st 2009
Published: December 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Even at the beginning my preparation skills were evident as we embarked on our journey, taking only what we needed and in small quantities at that. Ok I lied; I left my gloves and scarf. Preparation skills are something that I desire; they are not something I own. As I envisioned them sitting on my bed I hoped they were the only two things I’ve forgotten to bring, but only time will tell.

Waiting for the first plane was pretty painless. The youngest Berry looked as if she would faint without food so she sat and enjoyed her cheese and ham toasty at eight this morning. She ever so graciously left a corner and the crumbs for me. Whilst sitting there we were able to listen to an insight into the wisdom of Browne’s complaints. These included the facts of how we weren’t very “travel friendly”. It’s like he expected us to be intrepid explorers or something.

After the whole hour and a quarter plane journey, of which I slept for the duration, we took a train through Heathrow and dropped our luggage off so that we could adventure into London. My first time in the underground was at about 11 this morning and wasn’t too bad, compared to what I was expecting the hustle and bustle to be like. This proved to not be the case on the journey back to the airport.

As we got off the train at “Paddington Station” Leanne, mum and I went to the shop as Keith veered off to see if there was a matinee of “Wicked” on at the theatre. Sadly there was no success as today was possibly the only day in December where there wasn’t a showing of the play. While in London we walked the legs off of ourselves. In passing we saw the Parliament Buildings, Big Ben, Buckingham Palace from afar, the cavalry guards, we walked through Trafalgar Square and plenty more. We spent a good hour touring round the National Gallery of which was pretty amazing to see all the paintings. Some of which had been painted by Vincent van Gough and Picasso themselves! We then travelled to a nearby Starbucks where Leanne decided to hoard all of the cup holders, straws and napkins available. How they will come into use on the voyage I have no idea but I may be surprised… somehow.

All of the above was done in our fashion forward “Pac-A-Macs”. We looked like something from Joseph and the technicoloured dream coats. But of course we embraced the colour… as you can tell from these pictures. (Found in the link below) Although we laughed all day about these fashion disasters I was previously warned that we were going for the more comfort and versatile choices rather than the good looking ones. They did prove to be a useful additional layer of warmth and they were able to allow us to spot mother as she was carried away in the oncoming crowd. Our choice of clothing today will hopefully not be worn for another 28 days as we will be in temperatures ranging from seventeen to thirty two degrees. Instead I’m looking forward to the shorts, vests and safety sandals for the rest of the trip!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



24th December 2009

hiiiii
heyyy!!! all sounds amazin so far! your not missing much here part from it snowed :D not very much tho unfortunly :( ive been tlkin to david n he misses you alredi :) so do me n lauren obv. loved the pictures :) especially the macs..it was a good look. cant wait to hear about the rest of the trip :) have fun...stay safe :D byeees xo iloveyou.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb