UK Update


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Walthamstow
July 29th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

G'day all,

I've been living in London for the past 4 months now, which means that I've been away from Australia for over 7.

After arriving in London from Greece, It was time I found a place to call home. I had been traveling for over 3 months and was ready to settle down in one place. Also the $$ were low and I needed a Job. I found a nice little room in North London, a place called Walthamstow. Around 30mins by tube to the Centre of London and I've been working for the last few months at a health company running a migration project as a Systems Engineer.

I have met a great bunch of people, funnily enough most of them are not from UK. Indian, Italian, Polish etc. This town is very multicultural, I thought Sydney was but it has nothing on London. I suppose since the UK has become part of the EU so many eastern Europeans have flocked here for work as the earnings relative to back home are just too good to resist.

I even read an article that there a mass shortage of builders in Poland because they are all in Britain, and women have started to take over the industry as the majority.

So a quick cap of the things I've done in the UK so far :


- Last Month I visited Wimbledon, one thing I always said that If I was ever in England during June/July, I would head to Wimbledon. I had a half day on Friday and took off on the Tube. A 2 hour wait in line and I was in for 12 pound cause It was after 5pm by the time we go thru the gates. This allowed you to see all courts except Centre, Court 1 and 2. I saw Alicia Molik win at doubles. I then found out for a fiver you can line up to get centre court tix. I saw the Roger Federer, Saffin and Roddick. Man can they hit hard.

- Went to the ANZAC service in London at Downing St in April. Saw the beefeaters (guys in red with the big black wolley hats), and saw the marching band play our National Anthem and Waltzing Matilda which all Aussie belted out proudly.

- Heading out to pubs and clubs in London. One club we went to was in a basement, it had a 1200 year old roman wall behind a glass panel. I think everything is Europe is built on old ancient towns. This club didn't start till 4am.
It seems like we head out to a pub for a few beers and end up somehow and then trekking home at 6am.

- Yesterday I went to the Red Bull Air race in London. Fast paced planes fly a few meters above the Themes around Tower Bridge and the Millennium Dome.

- British Museum - Wandered through the ancient Egyptian and Greek monuments and statues saw the Rosetta stone.

- Went to the love box festival last week which was a bit of a everything festival, dance, ska, reggae.... Was great.

- Just near where I live we went to play golf, turned up to the course and asked for some hire clubs. The guy gave me a 9 iron, a wedge and a putter. I thought he was crazy until I saw it was a full 18 hole course but every one of the holes was a par three. Quickest 18 I’ve ever played.

I'm still getting used to the weather in this country, one minute it can be freezing and raining and the next your sweating... As soon as the sun comes out the temp rises 5-8 degrees. You guys might have seen it on the news, it's been the wettest summer in recorded history.

- Played a full round of 18 at a great course last week with some work colleagues. Much better than just Par 3's.

- Last weekend Jordan and I went and met Cam and Trace in Brighton, a pebbled beach, so lots of swiming (first time in the Sea since I left Aus), walked along the bordwalk and famous Pier. And sat in the sun with a few beers and relaxed.. what a day !!!!


But I spose Aus has had it's fair share lately too with all your storms etc.

I hope everyone is well back home (Where ever you call home is),

Talk to you all soon. PS. There are 2 pages of photos.

Roh



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb