Almost the weekend again!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Totteridge
September 19th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!

Well, the rest of my day Monday was busy cleaning house. Lynne came back from Abu Dhabi, David went to pick her up so I had the kids most of the evening. I took them to the park after school, made dinner, the usual stuff. The kids are starting to get a grip on my expectations, here's hoping! I was pretty tired by the time I was done with them so I decided not to worry about going to youth group as planned. Hoping to go next week for sure though.

Tuesday - Lynne took the kids to school because she likes doing that with them the first day she gets back home. Worked just fine for me, I got a lie in (sleep in) and basically just got out of bed when I am usually leaving to get the bus with the kids. I had a bit of breakfast, I wasn't feeling great but after a brisk uphill 15-20 minute walk to my volunteer job, I was doing okay. IT was my first day so I was really hoping to get better fast. I met 4 of the other volunteers, 2 of them were named Dot! Crazy to imagine 2 people with the same name volunteering the same day, etc. I thought it was interesting, both nice ladies anyhow. I sorted scarves, hats, gloves, purses and shoes. They have a policy of getting rid of clothes from the shop after 2 weeks. So, if the items displayed are not sold in that time, they are either discounted (if they were expensive) or they go into rag bags. They sell the rag bags for a bit of money so if items aren't sold or are dirty/not perfect, they go into those bags. I saw this really nice skirt, they put in the rag bag so I just had to rescue it. It was just a little dirty, I wash all my clothes before wearing them anyways so shoot, I couldn't help myself. I just had to make a donation, easy enough. I don't know what the deal is but I brought 3 purses with me to England and every single one has broke, straps, zips, you name it. So, I have really been on the hunt for purses. I did buy one the other day so my need is satisfied but it would be good to get a bit bigger of a bag to fit a snack or water, etc. I have quite a mission at the charity shop, i hate calling it that, sounds so bad to me...even if that is what they call them here. Whatever, the shoes, belts, etc. are in a bad bad way. IN desperate need of Chloe's "culling". So, I will try to work on that. I've also learned that if you want something specific in the shops, you have to ask because they don't display everything they sell! Weird. I volunteered for 4 hours before I left to have some lunch at 1:30. I got the place tidied up a bit, cleaned up the bits in the kid's room, put laundry away and picked the munchkins up. We went to the park again, they just love playing there. I like talking to one of the mom's, Gail. She has a daughter named Chloe as well. She looks after a few kids after school as well, childminder I guess you'd say. So, I had a battle on my hands because Alex doesn't want to eat any veggies but cucumbers...grr! So, I forced him to eat the lettuce, after an hour I was pretty worn with him though. I wasn't going to let him have the main meal because he is so darn stubborn, makes me crazy. It was Luke's b-day today so his grama, aunt and cousin came to visit this evening. He had a few drinks by the time everyone was here and he arrived back, was quite the zoo in the living room with the family and his 3 friends. I got out of there fairly quick because it was too much commotion for this girl! Ahh, to be 18 again. Actually, I wouldn't change anything, made the most of my years and quite happy to be where I am at now.

Wednesday - Alex went to camp early in the morning and Lynne took Rhiannon to school again as well. I took my Back and Abs class again, starting to see a new strength in my core so that's pretty cool. I had a doctor's appointment to get registered with the "surgery". I should really make a dictionary of the words we use/they use, etc. It's rather amusing. Anyhow, it seems I am in great health but weigh more than I'd like to. I felt really determined to lose some of that weight or at least know that I have more muscle in place of some fat...So, I hit the gym hard and when I felt myself struggling, remembered it's going to be so much harder at depot so I will keep going until I can do more. I came home, did a bit of a tidy up, picked up Rhiannon from school and had supper with her. I took the spin class at the gym (on bike). They are super intense and I was totally interested in going. I was running late and ended up having to run to the gym so I wasn't late, still a tad late for class which isn't good, especially on your first class. Luckily, it wasn't as full as most spin classes, only about 5 people in there! The instructor was great, helped me get adjusted properly and it was tough. I am definately going to push myself a little more next week but at least I could still walk home! I had my health check and went through basically the same as my doctor's appointment, great blood pressure, etc. So, I came home and was pretty beat, hello bed!

Thursday - Got Rhiannon off to school with breakfast and her packed lunch. I walked home because I had forgot my towel and swimming cap for water aerobics so it was a tight time frame as I had planned to get the bus to the gym but it all worked out just fine. I took the water aerobics class again and shoot, it was a little harder this time - probably because I wasn't doing the exercises quite right last week. Anyhow, met up with a couple of the regular attending moms which was cool. I walked home afterwards to do a major clean. I washed a ton of laundry and got some of it sorted, did the dusting, vacuuming and bathroom cleaning. So, I had a bit leftover but nothing too major. I picked up Rhiannon from school and we went to the park again. She just loves it there and some of her friends were going. I met up with one of the mom's from Rhiannon's class so we usually chat a bit. I heard a couple of girls talking and they sounded like aupairs because they weren't looking after their own children. I asked them if they were aupairs and the answer was YES! So, I got acquainted with them which was cool. I think we are all meeting at the park on Monday after school so that will be pretty cool, their kids all go to nursery at a totally different school than Alex and Rhiannon but it's a short walk for me which is just fine. I hope it won't rain but the weather here the past few days has been really sunny. The other days haven't rained but have been quite cold. Rhiannon has been very good for me so I told her we could go to McDonald's for supper. She was stoked about getting her happy meal. So, we went there, I got their chicken sub on brown bread so it was relatively healthy. WE made some cookies after we got back and then Lynne started the wedding packing. Mom phoned me quickly so it was nice to have a chat with her. I cleaned up the kitchen and then watched a bit of tv. I got a nice chat in with Monty and Darlene from home so after that, it was bedtime. I was tired right out!

Friday - I slept in a bit, guess my alarm wasn't set for weekdays but it wasn't a big deal - the family was just getting ready for the wedding. Luke and Alex weren't going. Alex is still at camp but I pick him up at 4:30 today. I organized a bit more of the laundry for my ironing to be done today. I want to have it hung up and put away before D and L get home. So, I ended up not having enough time to get to the gym for one of my classes so I cancelled and did a bit of tidy in my room. Oh, I must mention that I got a package today! I love getting mail here but anyhow, Chris (RCMP Depot) sent me a parcel! He sent an RCMP moose and bear for the kids and a couple postcards for me. As well, he got me a new camera! Guess I will be really taking pictures in style. The one I had was still good but it had a bit of a bump from a drop so it could have just stopped working at any moment. Now, I don't have to worry about that! It was a really thoughtful and expensive present but Lynne thought it was too nice for me to complain about the splurge so, this is me very thankful! WHOOO HOOO. I had to go to the gym for my one on one orientation to get a feel for the machines. I think I get how to use most of them, at least I hope so - guess I will have to just experiment and learn as I go. So, after an hour there, I walked home in the beautiful sunshine, witnessed some road rage between a van and motorbike, talked to Luke who had apparently invited some friends over (hmm...) and found my lunch had already been eaten. Great. It was still a good day though, just made a Raspberry jam sandwich. Ok, such details are just not needed in this blog so hope all is well at home - keep up the messages! I will try to update the blog with some pictures soon. Hugs, Chloe


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb