Sick in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Southwark
February 17th 2011
Published: February 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 12- This was the first time I experience the British heath care. I woke up feeling terrible, I could barely swallow. During the night I woke up several times soaked in sweat. I decided it was necessary to visit the doctor. I emailed my ISA advisor and she told me to call some places to see if they would take me. 3 places said no and when I was just about to break down she called and told me to go to one just down the street. I had to go to school and print something off first. This was not very fun since the computers took forever to start up and then I couldn’t figure out how to get the document to print. Finally, it worked but I was exhausted. I made my way to the doctors office, but of course couldn’t find it. Luckily someone helped me out.

As I talked to the receptionist I realized I had to fill out 6 pages front and back of documents. When your not feeling well this is not something you want to do. I flew through it. I had the worst headache and handed my document in after 30 minutes. The receptionist then said the words that took the wind out of me. “Thank you, we will be able to see you in a few days.” I was shocked and explained that I had to be seen today. She did some maneuvering and said I would need to wait at least an hour and maybe two. I said okay, and went to the grocery store across the street to stock up on Sprite and OJ.

After a hour and a half of waiting, the doctor called me in and diagnosed that I had tonsillitis. He gave me anti-biotic and apologized for the wait. He also told me I wasn’t contagious but to stay away from class for a few days. I made it home and slept the rest of the day.

Day 13-I woke up this morning feeling a lot better, but was in no shape to attend class. I tried to eat as much as I could. Yogurt seemed to be something I enjoyed. I basically laid around all day watching movies and hydrating.

That night I was suppose to attend a Birthday party at the club OXYGEN. I heard it was crazy and that we would have to go some other time. All of my flat mates attended Ministry of Sound and pre-drank in my flat kitchen. They were all trying to tempt me to join them. I used my better judgment and declined their invitations. My flat-mates said the Ministry was a great time and should be our Tuesday night spot since most of us do not have class on Wednesday. I was a little upset that I couldn’t go out with everyone, although I enjoyed watching a movie and skyping with my family and Kristen.

Day 14- I took today easy and felt great. Jomar gave me Fish oil pills and they made me feel a lot better. I watched Euro Trip so I got quite excited for my trip that I will be taking during Spring Break with my Brother. Hunter and I are planning to travel Europe for 2 weeks. Were hoping to hit Amsterdam, Milan, Barcelona, and Paris. I mainly laid in bed hydrating though. Mom and Dad this is where you stop reading.

That night I was feeling up to going out so I joined some people at Beluschi’s dollar drink night. We didn’t stay long and I only had 2 drinks. After the bar, which is also a hostel, we decided to go to a flat party. I just hung out at the flat party opposed to another American who got quite drunk. David had been at this flat all night drinking with the Brits and apparently he tried to keep up and failed miserably since I arrived at 11. I left and got in to bed quite early.


Advertisement



23rd February 2011

get well soon man
Yeah i had that once it was just hell, i hear raw garlic helps out but it may not be a good idea to mix it with antibiotics i don't know, how about removing ur tonsils ? so it doens't happen again ? do they still do that ?

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb