Pubs, Bank of England, Buckingham Palace


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Southwark
February 24th 2011
Published: February 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The CrewThe CrewThe Crew

Katie, Liz, Jomar, Me, Andrea, Meg. Will is taking the shot because we have decided he is to ugly to be in pictures
Day 15- I woke up late and got out of bed with enough time to shower and make eggs. I went to investment analysis today and it was interesting however the teacher still upsets me. His attitude is just completely different from what I was expecting, I don’t understand why he teaches it if he doesn’t like the stock market.

At night I went to spoons, they have a burger & beer deal. I got a gourmet burger with half fries, half onion rings. I ordered a Carlsberg to go with it. After we ate we all ordered pitcher mix drinks. I got something called a WOO-WOO. Jomar made a bet that Michael couldn’t chug the 3/4ths left of his pitcher. Michael was down for it. He took out all the ice and downed it like a champ. Jomar bought him a new pitcher. We played the rugby drinking rules so we all were feeling it. Jomar was quite drunk even though he didn’t drink very much, typical.

We then headed to Flowers to enjoy some pool. We ended up playing several guys and right before close some city pool players challenged us to a tri’s match. Some random older gentleman, Michael and I played 3 very good players. Of course, I missed a tough shot and set them up for the game winner. I took the lose pretty hard but the team bought us a pint so we all enjoyed it.

Day 16- Since I have Fridays off , I usually try to do some type of touristy activity. So Jomar and I set out for a trek to the bank of England. We arrived to the financial district and were amazed by the building and the type’s of car that were passing by. He and I had ferrari’s, lamborghni’s and benleys all whizzing by us. It was quite a scene.

In the bank of England we read about the past financial history of England, and saw 300 years of history. The amount of bank notes and coin they had available for viewing was breath taking. However, the moment that made this whole trip worth it was getting to touch and lift a gold bar. It was a weird contraption so your only allowed to touch it with one hand at a time. I thought a gold bad would be completely solid, but I felt as if the outer layer was soft. You could almost leave a finger nail print if you pressed hard enough. It was very heavy for its size, weighing a little over 28 pounds. Just imagine holding 339,920 pounds or 548,170 American dollars in your one hand at today’s prices. I would have never though I would hold that amount of Gold in my hand. The Bank of England is one of the less visited tourist attractions in London, but with my experience there I would suggest everyone to take an hour to go visit it.

After our tour, Jomar and I just started wandering the streets of the financial district. I quickly realized we were near Tower Bridge, knowing Jomar had not seen the amazing bridge I guided us in that direction. As we got near to the bridge I alerted him where we were and his face lit up. AS we approached the bridge I could see his anticipation. We arrived there around 530 and the bridge was perfectly lit up in the night sky. I swear his first view of Tower Bridge was the typical postcard of the bridge in early evening. We took a few minutes for pictures there and then decided to walk the bridge. I enjoyed this adventure with Jomar for many reasons, he and I tend to have very detailed conversations on our views of economics. We are on a similar career path and our both in an Investment Analysis class here, so of course we take the occasional jab at our predictable teacher.

As Jomar and I were arriving back to Mclaren House we saw to of the girls in Jomar’s group. They alerted us that they were having a Taco night and we were expected to be there. Chloe, Katie, Jomar and I went to and offy (off-license store) before heading to Tesco to purchase Corona’s and a few odd’s and ends for the feast. It was quite a meal and we all enjoyed having a family dinner together. I think it is the guys week for family dinner next week so I will have to break out my cooking skills. People have seen me cook and have always been drooling over what I have made. So I have high expectations. After dinner a few of us headed to G block but it was pretty lame, so I headed back to our flat with Michael, William, and others. Of course, we were playing rugby rules drinking. I remember I had just made my self a gin and tonic when will dropped the “golf ball” in my drink, meaning I had to down the whole glass. I finished it with out a problem, and dropped it back in to will’s drink. This game got heated throughout the night and didn’t end well for any of the parties involved. We all still enjoyed the night in! In the midst of this, Jomar, Greg and I all got named by the Michael and the guys. I won’t tell details of being named or our names but they are all interesting and funny. It is also and embarrassing time for all who were named, because of stories we have to tell.

Day 17- Today, I visited Buckingham palace for the first time with Paolo. Paolo is an Italian friend of mine, from Roma. He is a supporter of AS Roma. He is always asking me to go to a little Italian joint for their matches, I have declined everytime. I will go with him atleast once for a match to view the atmosphere. After we viewed the palace we headed to borough market. At borough market I bought this amazing tasting jelly. It is Strawberry and has huge chunks. I think it will be great for the occasional PB&J. I really like this market and will continue to attend it as I deem nessecary. The cheese that I bought there, that had been aged 20 months, is the ebst tasting cheese I have ever had.

After we got back from the market, I was craving some Chinese food. I met up with Will and we went to a hole in the wall Chinese place a few blocks from my flat. I got ginger chicken with spring onions and fried rice. Will had Chicken curry and fried rice, both were great and for around 4 quid, it was a deal you can’t beat. Knowing we were going to go out that night we poured a few gin and tonics to go with our food. A few people joined us and we played a few games before heading to a flat party. Michael came and grabbed me from the party and took Jomar and I to the Blue-eyed Maid to join the rugby guys.
Will then went and got Chinese food with will had some gin and tonics then went to a flat party and then went to rugby pub then went to Clapton then came back bought pizza’s then went to a flat party it sucked so we all just came back to our kitchen ate the pizza’s and talked crap to eachtoher. Thanks to liz for cleaning up all of our messes.


Also, I have realized that I have not done a proper introduction of my friends and flat-mates. So here it goes.

Jomar- He resides in Brooklyn, New York and attends Marist College. He is an Econ. major, so he is great to discuss financial views and investment strategies with. We are planning to go to a few lectures at London school of Economics. He plays rugby and has joined a team here. The rugby guys named him Belly-button, for reasons i can not say on here. He is a fun guy to party with however he is an extreme lightweight.

Greg- He reps New York, New York and attends Morehouse college in Atlanta. He is a business major and has Info. systems in business with me. He is very into music and can quote most songs. He says he is pretty good at hoops, however here he has also joined a rugby team and seems to be catching on very quick. We hope to see him move up to the 2nd team soon. The rugby guys named him one-minute wonder. I also have to say he is a good poked player. You will here more about this later on.

Elizabeth(Liz) - Is from Mishawacka, Indiana which is near Notre Dame. She has a twin sister who plays D-1 volley ball. She comes from a family of athletes and is a very active person. She studies marketing at Kentucky University, however she admits Ku is the best basketball team ever. She even has said "I mean they have to be the best, they invented it." she actually dislikes ku but i give her a hard time about it. She loves John wall and doing the "Dougie." she would say she is NOT-normal, which i would happen to agree with.

Jyns- Is my flatmate from Germany. He is 29 and is doing his masters here. I have had several conversations with him but he tends to hang with his buddies from home.

Paul- He is from Luxembourg, is 24 and also doing his Master's here. he is doing a dual program so he did the first part of it in France and he is now into the 2nd portion. He is very busy with Uni. but when he gets the chance he enjoys kicking a football around. It is great to have another flatmate who enjoys the game as much as i do. He and i will have to catch a few pints for some games in the near future.

Anu- He is 24 and from India. This is the first time he has been away from his parents. We have seen that he has been struggling with this so we have done our best to make him feel comfortable and tried to help him find his classes and other necessary places. We brought him out with us to some pubs and was enjoyable to have along with us. After a few pints he seemed to get quiet.

Andrea- Is from Lacey, Washington and has attended 3 universities in 3 year and this is technically her 4th. She is fun to hang out with and enjoys touring all different parts of London and seeing what they have to offer. She has a good eye for cheese, she bought the same cheese i bought at borough market.

Those are all of my Flat-mates, now here are some of my friends from Mclaren House..

David Cohen (Dudley) is from New York and like Jomar attends Marist College. He however lives at home. He is a movie buff, and can explain in detail most movies and the director and main characters. With his knowledge of movies i think he should pursue something with it. He is a fun guy to hang out with and is always up to do something, even if his sleeping schedule is completely off.

Chloe- She is a very sweet girl from nashville,tennessee. She studies acting at Columbia college in Chicago. She is a very upbeat person who loves chocolate. She is also writing a blog but hers is more of a food diary compared to a full blog. It is very interesting, i will try to link it in here one of these days.

Alexandra (Ally)- She is from San Francisco, Califronia and attends the university of Arizona. She is a true california girl. She has studied here before at Oxford so she kinda knows the places to go so that is nice. She also was very nice and gave all the american guys a chocolate heart for valentines day and littered our flat with rose pedals. Which we all enjoyed.

Katie- My kansas buddy, yea she is from Kansas as well. She attended Mill Valley and knows a few of the same people i know including a college but of mine Kurt VanKuiken. She now attends Columbia College in Chicago with Chloe. She is also studying Acting or theater as is chloe.

William, Will, or Free Willy- He is from Wales however has ties to Oxford. He is a fun guy to hang out with and has really helped us americans. He does however let us know we are yanks and that they created us. We get into some very livly disputes about this but it is all in good fun. He is a big football fan so he and i discuss games and watch games and we have a kick around planned quite soon. He supports Oxford United, there a lower division team however his loyalty is stronger then most. He has there Crest tattooed on his chest. I would say thats pretty loyal. Will is also quite the drinker and is great to have around. We always play rugby drinking rules and he enjoys having the golf ball dropped in his drink. He can take down a pint very fast.

Michael - Is from a town just outside of Leicester, England. He is a Rugby Lad, who choose Uni over sport. He could have gone pro but decided to come and study energy distribution here since it is very lucrative. However only a few people are excepted to this program each year. He is very intelligent. I will admit i didn't think he was at first. He is an all around stand up guy and would vouch for him any day. He can handle his alcohol and will drink most people under the table. His rugby name is Pecker. He is the nicest person i have met in London. He and will our the mates i usually go to the pub with.

Paolo- Is from Roma, Italy. He supports As Roma and always tries to get me to watch their games. He is also a very stand up guy. I enjoy teasing him about being italian. We also call him Pablo for fun. He is the best Fifa player in the Lounge, will comes in a close second with me nipping at their feet. Michael and Greg are still learning the controls. ha Paolo is always down to do the tourist activites so that is nice, he recently showed me Buckingham Palace when everyone else was in Oxford.

Thats it for now, I have met a lot of other people but im tired and am going to head to bed.


Advertisement



24th February 2011

Toronto to LONDON
Hey man I like the blog man.. keeps us all up to date with what your up to... I should make a blog of Lamoni for you lol, I just finished writting this paper and I am reading all this stuff you got going on, I like the that you introduced your flat mates, Liz is dope for doing the dougieeeeeee and John Wall is the truth! keep writting
28th February 2011

UK mate
Austin, Nice work. I know that you love UK. Both The University of Kentucky and United Kingdom. I understand that you like Football but Volleyball is pretty wicked awesome and it is spelt with no space between it. Keep up the blogging and let me know if you have trouble with mixing up your days. Cheers, Liz P.S. I have to savor the moments I am correct! :)

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb