A trip back to London...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » South Bank
September 3rd 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

…is always nice. Friday, 5 June, I finished work at about 5:50pm before rushing off to the train station to get to Schiphol. I wasn't so much nervous as to miss the flight, but more so - had I forgotten anything.

Rubina had messaged me earlier that day and mentioned that I needed something warm.
A jersey she had said. Unfortunately i was assuming more of a spring time weather in the air. It was June after all, surely summer would hit London by this stage. No forecasts were about 9C for the night.
I had checked in online at work so that saved me some time at the airport. I was taking the 6:55pm flight with VLM to London city.

I escaped hand luggage checks relatively unscathed. No alarms going off, no body scans and frisking this time.

Arriving in London was welcoming. Every time I come back here I’m always flooded with the familiar memories of a home I once had. Its been 3 years since I studied and Hertfordshire University in Hatfield about 30 minutes north of London by train. There’s not much to the town besides that, but it was still perfect.

Visits to London weren’t frequent back then, but usually memorable, consisting of weekends spent at Rubina's place in Hammersmith. Or small daytrips with what Rubina refers to now as my entourage.

On the 6 of June, 2009 the weather isnt the bomb but its not so bad actually. However Rubs calls it a "resting day" so I venture forth myself. I decide to head to meet El. Elissa and me studied in Hertfordshire 3 years ago and I managed to catch up with her and her fiancé Richard last time I was there. We briefly go bride shoe shopping; she is getting married in August in Montreal!

We then decided to head to Borough’s market.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

I finally found Drury laneI finally found Drury lane
I finally found Drury lane

you know... he lives on Drury lane


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb