The infinite playlist (London Part II) - Europe 2012


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Soho
May 9th 2012
Published: February 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

In Falkland RoadIn Falkland RoadIn Falkland Road

View from my guest room. Legit.
Track title: Inside Out

Artist: Paul Cantelon




Reach home half an hour ago. I realised that summer in Europe have longer days, compared to Asia, which took me awhile to get used to it. 9.47PM and the Sun was still up there.. about to set though. Anyway.. I almost forgot about the dinner that Kin (Stephane's partner) is preparing; Risotto with roast vegetables, which turns out to be not bad!



Earlier today, I went to meet Simon, a friend who lives nearby Turnpike Lane tube station. We had coffee over at Costa, just opposite the tube station, and after which chilled at his place till afternoon. Simon is a freelance DJ artist, and he has some really wicked mix, which I asked him for some of his tracks. I went back home to prepare lunch (London is too expensive to eat out!) and had my own siesta (I take them seriously!) I wanted to check the flea market scene in London when it started to rain... RAIN.... Typical English summer. Now I know why people dread the English summer.. or weather for that matter! It is gloomy.. grey. Very depressing indeed! The rain
Soho ParkSoho ParkSoho Park

Ah...
stopped after 2 hours, and I made my way down to Portobello Road to check out the flea market scene, only to know that they're close for the day! I reach there about 6PM... and I guess in Europe, most of the establishment clost pretty early, unlike in Asia. Nevertheless, I spent a good hour of just walking around Portabello, and then went to Soho. I thought of checking out the gay scene but I was too tired to do so. In the end, went to a cafe along Frith Street to have a cup of hot chocolate, and bought a meal from McDonalds, and chill out at Soho Park.



From yesterday's observation, I noticed that a lot of commuters in the tube leave their newspapers behind. What's funny is that there is a sign in every tube car, which says:



'The newspaper that you're reading is rubbish.' Totally cracked me up! But I must that somehow, I like the London tube.. there's something iconic about it. Nevertheless, I'm really excited to meet up with David tomorrow, and have lunch, drinks together etc. It's my first time seeing David anyway, well, there's always a first time for something right? 😉 I got to know David from a social networking website, and we decided to meet up in London.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb