Got My Manapua


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Piccadilly
May 26th 2011
Published: May 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

When I passed through immigration in London the border control only wanted to chat about the ash cloud. I didn't want to tell him that the skies were clear in Reykjavik because the ash cloud had moved to Scotland.

I bought an unlocked phone at Carphone Warehouse because I didn't want to jailbreak my iphone 3G, which gives me enough problems without being jailbroken. It seemed to have issues talking to my old Vista computer, but now that I have Win 7 things have been going okay so far. The helpful sales associate quickly directed me to the cheapest phone in the store, at a price of three pounds (five dollars) with a ten pound top-up (meaning you have to buy a UK sim card with ten pounds loaded).

I went to a Korean restaurant in Leicester Square (Chinatown) and ordered squid and vegetables. This being London, it didn't come with rice, which had to be bought separately. I decided just to eat it without rice. I'm not sure it was really an authentic dish or just squid swimming in thick vats of ko choo jung and chilies. The skin around my lip started swelling. Speaking of Chinatown, London has a pretty good one, complete with a manapua stall and bubble tea shops. I think my favorite dim sum take out has been demolished in favor of the ongoing construction on Tottenham Court Road.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb