Literary Walk around Piccadilly, St James and Mayfair


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Piccadilly
June 12th 2022
Published: June 12th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Gent's suits shop, PiccadillyGent's suits shop, PiccadillyGent's suits shop, Piccadilly

Can you see dogs hoisting Union Jack flags? It's typically British!
I was going to do the walk in the city on 9th June. However, Central line had severe delays on both directions; I decided to do the walk around Piccadilly, St James and Mayfair.

I was instructed to use the South Exit 3 to go to Piccadilly. A lot of shops had Jubilee window displays, very patriotic. I was particularly fond of one of the gentlemen’s clothes shops’ display – contained several puppies/dogs’ display with gent’s mannequins, with lines of ‘Happy and Glorious’ – this was very much British lifestyle!

I went to Sotheran’s On Sackville Street – it had rare books and prints and posters. I don’t remember how much each of them was priced. I bought a nice card for my husband who will have birthday soon.

I crossed over Piccadilly and popped in Fortnum & Mason and Hatchards bookshop. There were several books I found interesting; decided to come back later.

Next, I turned left on Duke Street/St James Street. I found the former home of 3 Prime ministers – William Pitt, Earl of Derby and William Ewart Gladstone in front of St James Square. I strolled through St James Square and found that the park was used as an oasis for office workers.

I had lunch at Golden Lion Club Pub on King Street. I had lasagne. There were a lot of people in the pub in the lunch time.

I then went back to Piccadilly via St James Street, Bennett Street and Arlington Street and was then directed to turn right on Bolton Street after passing Green Park. I found the house where Nancy Mitford worked during the war time.

I continued on Curzon Street and turned right on Chesterfield Street. I found No.6 where William Somerset Maugham lived between 1911 and 1919. Around there looked like a prestigious, posh residential district. Not only in the past, but it seems that a number of recent and current celebrities are living in that area.

I crossed over Berkeley Square, passed Coach & Horses Pub and went down on Bruton Lane before reaching Hay Hill.

Going down Hay Hill, it led me to Dover Street. I found a very big hotel with a Union Jack flag, i.e. Browns Hotel. This is where Rudyard Kipling and Caroline Balestier stayed after their marriage in 1892. Some famous authors and scriptwriters stayed
St James SquareSt James SquareSt James Square

Office workers' oasis
in the past.

I was a little lost around Dover Street, but found ways to get back to the walking course. I found a very interesting shopping arcade – Royal Arcades off Albermarle Street. These small jewellery shops were selling highly valuable watches, necklaces and earrings, etc. I also found very pretty chocolate shop, Charbonnel et Walker – there were a lot of tourists in the shop and buying chocolates and trifes. There were loads of brand clothes and accessories shops – Gucci, Prada, Ralph Lauren, - on the Old Bonds Street, Burlington Gardens, Vico street on the back of the Royal Academy Arts, and Regent Street.

Afterwards, I went to Hatchards and bought books for my husband and myself.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

blue plaqueblue plaque
blue plaque

One of the respected authors Somerset Maugham lived in a quiet corner of Mayfair.
Browns HotelBrowns Hotel
Browns Hotel

This is where Rudyard Kipling and Caroline Balestier stayed after their wedding. Some famous authors like Stephen King and scriptwriters stayed in the past.


Tot: 0.366s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 59; dbt: 0.2758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb