England Day 2


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
September 15th 2013
Published: September 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After waking up early and blogging day 1 I was far too excited to go back to sleep and daylight was sneaking through. Strangely at this early hour I reflected upon rural development, in that I was in London, a global technology hub and boiling a kettle on the gas stove. Last time his happened to me I melted an electric one staying with friends in New Zealand. Of course Sam and Anna are aware of electric kettles, they are just in the process of moving house!

I often get excited about the tiniest of things, today's first excitement was utilising ITV player over the Internet (unlimited broadband I may add). What a great app along with BBC iplayer. X factor and a cup of tea it was, does it get more British than that! ( note to self - find scones and cream tea).

The presence of sunshine was an indicator that it was time to get cracking and explore the big smoke. After several text messages back and forth with Sarah Griffiths, a quick check of the weather and it was time to move swiftly and make the most of the sunshine before the rain.

The underground makes London so easy to explore, in theory! Sundays appear to be a little different. A walk down to Putney East, via cafe Nero for a latte and my favorite panini combo - tomato, mozzarella and basil which was delightful, although for a short time period I thought malaria may be a better option than taking the pills! That soon passed (Not literally). District line to South Kensington was swift, however, the connection to Bond Street (the meeting place) was off so after some sound advice I got off at Green Park and walked to Bond Street Station. I was under the impression that people in London where not terribly helpful. I have to disagree and everyone today went out of their way to set me on the correct pathway. I am wondering if folks are starting to recognise Falkland Islanders after all the media coverage through the referendum (hmmmmmm).

The walk up Bond Street was an added bonus. It is fashion week in London (of course I fitted in well) and there seemed to be a lot of receptions and wine being drank in many of the top designer outlets. Like Simon Pegg in How to Lose Friends and alienate people I failed to get into any of these receptions. I bet they didn't have marmite scones anyway! I did reflect, walking past Russel and Bromleys. Not because I am a big lover of shoes (i do acknowledge they are important though, but reflecting on the hospitality I received from Mr Bromley when I was in Winchester at Peter Symonds College. It is amazing that a £50 bottle of vino Tinto from the cellar can change your opinion on the grape juice rather quickly.

Anyway, meeting up with Sarah. My guide of London got lost! Well to be fair was waiting at the wrong tube station (Sorry Sarah). I did manage to see the Salvation Army band march past though. After our paths collided, Sarah suggested going for a spin on the 'Boris bikes'. Boris Johnson is of course the mayor and a highlight when anyone visits this magnificent city. The bikes were unavailable as they were being updated (electronically secure). This was unfortunate as I had carried out my warm up successfully and to be honest felt on form to take on Sir Bradley Wiggins. Sarah - you would of left me eating your dust!
SarahSarahSarah

Harley Street has lots of private medical practices.


Time for morning tea and the presentation of Sarah's most eagerly awaited gift, the Penguin News. I was caught out with my tea. Over here you have to pour it through a strainer first, I don't think they know you can put it in a bag! Sifting through the teeth like a baleen whale it had to be. An hour or more of delightful in depth discussions (known back home as gossiping) occurred Before we made our move past the park and down to Camden Market.

Camden market is a must. The art on the clothing shops and colors are tremendous. The highlight though is the street food and the friendly hustle and bustle of the crowds. I do recommend getting hungry before you go, it all then smells so great. The choice includes Spanish paella, Pakistani roti, Indian, Chinese and Thai, Brazilian churros, Philly cheesesteak and our choice today was Turkish. A wrap with hummus, haloumi, falafel and salad. It was devine. The friendly Turk fetched us chairs in the shelter of the rain, after drying them for us first.

As we walked back towards the city centre, we stopped off at what is to be Sarah's new local. I could only here one voice in my head - pint of Guinness please! Oh I do love draft Guinness, it cannot be compared to what comes in a can. The pub was interesting, specializing in Thai food and decorated entirely with famous quotes and musical instruments. It was quite vocal for a Sunday! Shortly after I said Cheerio to Sarah and bimbled aimlessly. Thank you Sarah for showing me around, I had an enjoyable and humorous day!

I do find London hard to get lost in. The underground is well signposted and at worst you could flag down a taxi to take you to one. If you are here get an Oyster card, it is like the underground version of a Vic card! I believe maximum charge is a daily travel card.

I strolled past the BT tower, ending up back on Oxford Street. I then managed to find the apple store on regents street. It was heaving in there and the turnover must be immense. I am wanting to purchase a MacBook Air. I walked past Hamleys the shop I drooled over as a kid. Finally I came across 'whole foods' a supermarket with immense quality. I purchased hummus, fresh guacamole, cheesecakes for dessert and my favorite, black truffle Brie! Knowing my love for Thomas Hoe Stilton I do think this is now my new number one.

I arrived back at the flat, a bit damp and within minutes Cockers had a G&T in hand, that's what I call hospitality! Then thouroughly enjoyed Sam's hairy bikers sausage casserole with mash and fresh veg.

End of day 2


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb