Day 1 - London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
July 20th 2011
Published: July 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi yall,

Thought i would start this so everyone back home can see what I am getting up to on the other side of the world.

I am writing this on thursday morning, but lets just pretend its yesterday, otherwise im going to get confused!

got off the plane @ 6:30 this morning - flight was ok, food was good but not enough off it. It would have also been nice if they told us they were doing a surprise stop over in Dubai ... which isnt really that exciting at 1:30 in the morning, but at least i can say i have been!

Customs was ridiculous - they ask you your life story now. Yes i am on holidays, and it none of your business how i am going to pay for it. Do I look like a drug smuggler?

From the airport I caught the train into Paddington station which is pretty cool but pretty run down, such a pitty as it looks so nice in all the pictures taken in ye-olde days. From Paddington it was onto the tube (which is so friggin cool). getting on with luggage in peak hour when you haven't showered for 30 odd hours probably wasnt such a good idea though. I know a few cities (cough Brisbane cough) that could learn from London on how to move loads of people around very quickly . The tube is amazing, one comes every couple of minutes and the stations are everywhere. The doors wait for no-one, if you arnt in the train when the doors close (hard!) to bad so sad! Oh, they also have some pretty crazy station names - my favourite is Elephant and Castle! from there i found the backpackers and dumped my bags so i could go exploring.

LONDON

At first I couldn't really see what all the fuss was about, I caught the tube back to Piccadilly Circus, which is a bit tacky and touristy, (think gold coast) to pick up my map and London pass. from there i jumped on an open hoped on tourist bus, which took over an hour to come due to the road works, but was the best decision i made all day. the tour guide was funny and it was the easiest way to see everything quickly incase i miss something later! from there i took a cruise on the thames, mainly because it was included in the price of the bus tour, and it was a bit of a waste of time really. The seat also broke halfway though the ride - to many fat american tourists i think!

After the cruise i went for a walk - all the little lane ways are so cool. you could spend day / weeks exploring here. There is something around every corner. The biggest thing that struck me about London is how leafy it is, and how you can usually never see more than 100 meters up the road. The buildings are all around the 4-5 story mark and all jammed together and the roads are twisty, so you never know what is going to pop up around the next corner. I was also surprised about the sheer number of tourists ... but i cant complain as i am one of them!

I ended up walking past the transport museum which was pretty cool to check out all of the old london buses and tube trains and stuff. everything closes at 5 so that was my day over and out. No partying tonight - by the time i ate and had a shower i was knackered - will make up for it tonight tho!

Tomorrow - depending on the weather, im going to do the historically touristy stuff, tower of London first up then off to the war rooms and the queens house. Maybe I can get her to make me a cup tea.

I would put up some photos but i havent worked out how yet! check my facebook,

my uk number is +447935593119 - text me bitches

Peace out

Nathan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb