London Was Amazing


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
March 1st 2010
Published: March 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This was London.

Ok, I'll just jump into this.

Friday- I skipped my class at 1 to make it to the bus to the airport at 1030- the plane was VERY late in departing though, however, Amanda and Kiera and myself were at the front of the boarding line so we got very good seats and it was funny the three of us ended up chilling together in line since we are not each other usual companions on a day-to-day basis- but it was fun to talk to them.

We got to London and met our AIFS guide, Adrian- a VERY UKish man- he even had a tailored vest with a pocket watch attached at the pocket and a messenger boy's hat- awesome! As we boarded the bus he counted us and spoke in Welsh! He was so cool. It was a long drive to London city to the Regency hotel in South Kensington- but worth it. I had my room mate Kia- and we had a very nice room together- bigger than I thought it'd be and we quickly freshened up for the evening since it was about 515 by the time we arrived at the hotel. I went out with her, Jen, Carly, Megan, Erin, Stephanie, and Crystal- we invited Lindsey and Ashley and Sean but no replies. We wanted a river tour on the night boat, but never figured it out and after walking around the Eye and Big Ben and taking some beautiful night pictures ended up at a place called the Red Lion where I had a nice meal of pork, mash and salad- it was wonderful to eat something besides sandwiches and fries- though some people opted for that. Though some didn't have a choice- being Catholic during Lint- no meat- but I enjoyed my meal and then we went to Piccadilly Circus and found the half-ticket booth and people tried to negotiate tickets- while I could have gotten cheaper tickets for things that night- I was glad I had already gotten a seat for Wicked. We left Liescester Square but only after getting some GELATTO from a shop and then headed back. However, Crystal and I got separated from the main group- which is what happens when trying to tote 10 people around at once with no designated leader. But it was fine- it was easy enough to get back to the hotel and we were grand.

Sat- woke up early though Kia and I both agreed we'd snooze a bit longer and consequently were the last down for breakfast- though we still had time to eat. We all piled into the bus again for a 3 hour bus tour led by Nicki- a wonderful bus tour lady who has a badge around her neck which designates her as an "official" tour guide which is kinda cool 😊 She was brilliant and every now and then when describing the victories or merit of London would shout a resounding "HUZZAH!" Over the microphone and it was funny to hear her say that. She was very good and pointed out the important things like Daniel Radcliffe's home street, Michael Jackson and Jennifer Anniston's favorite hotels, and Harrod's- Yes- the important things....don't argue.

After the tour, which began rainy- ended at Convent Garden where she left us to go off on our own. I KNEW (as much as I love these girls) I did NOT want to be stuck in the group of 10 girls I'd been with the night before and in Brussels- not because I don't love them- but it's TOO many people when we clump together- interestingly enough though, Kiera and Amanda decided to go hang together and I just asked if I could join- and thus the Tres Amigos was born right there in Convent Garden, an ideal place for pick-pockets. We WANTED Pasties- amazing things like hot-pockets in concept- but not at all hot-pockets beyond that very broad defition. They're wonderful handy lunches that we literally ate as we walked around the main area and enjoyed the shops. Kiera found postcards for 60 pence each but no one to take her money and yes, she took them- awesome. No one ever came around until about 45 mins later probably and we figured she should have paid him, but too late for him. Kiera and Amanda wanted to get their palms read for fun, and I took an "illegal" picture of the fortunre teller lady- HA! It says no pictures and she'll stop you if you do- but not me- I got it. So take that silly woman in a purple wonky turban!

We left after they'd finished and headed for the half-price ticket booth and found a good one- though small and a line- the guy was SOOOO helpful and wonderful to us. The two of them got tickets for play GHOSTS and the three of us got half-priced tickets for the Tower of London and London Dungeons- I only paid 50 pounds for both attractions when it could have been about 100. Yep, the half-price booths live up to their name.
We headed for the Tower of London which we got to and enjoyed thoroughly- the crown jewels and the main premises of the Tower. We left quicker than I would have liked, but having been there before, I'd seen most everything anyway. As we left for the Globe Theatre- we had to stop and ask tour bus guide people at the street corner for directions. As I walk by, 2 of them pass by me and one of them stops and looks at me and says, "Beautiful"- sure enough he mean me.

I stopped and turned and said, "I'm sorry?"
"Your accent is so gorgeous and you are so beautiful"
"Thank you" Smile. Peace. I walked away and hide behind Amanda.
After a while of poking and prodding, Kiera and Amanda convinced me to talk to a tour guide again to help us find the Globe Theatre bus- I asked a third one, but the 2 original guys came over and the older one said, "He's talking to your wife."
"WIFE?!"
"Yes, you and I would make beautiful exotic babies."
"Oh, haha, you're funny."


Eventually, it was decided that the older one would have Kiera who offered a french kiss, but Kiera said, No.
I asked for a picture with my supposed husband and asked for his name since we were married and I ought to know his name.
"I'm Craig, and you are?" As he held my hand.
"Kara"
"Ah, so beautiful" As he kissed my hand.
"You're sweet, but can you tell us where the bus for the globe theatre is?"
In a casual and very professional way, "Over there, across the intersection and under the bridge, you'll see the stop."
"Thank you!" As I pulled away
"Well your friends can go, but you have to go to lunch with me"'

Oh brother. Oh well, he was sweet and very cute anyway- goodbye Craig, we'll always have London.

We made it to the Globe though with not a lot of time decided to head back early to the hotel to get ready for the evening of entertainment. We dressed and were out the door and to dinner at Bella Italia- delicious. We had the most adorable waiter ever- very very adorable. Stupid adorable British boys...anyway. We enjoyed a good meal and left at 6:50 to make out 730 shows- plenty of time, or so we all thought. I was on my way to Wicked, which I was told was a mere 2 stops from South Kensington to Victoria. I hopped on the tube and waited...and waited...after 2 announcements from the tube conductor assuring we'd be moving soon, came on at 7:15 and said- "Er, might try another route"

STAMPEDE!

I was alone, so Kiera and Amanda, I presumed had better luck than me, but as I darted off the tube and out of the station along with the 500 people who also were on the same tube I frantically tried to calculate my options. I asked a tube guy finally who pointed me to the bus stop. I arrived, but saw i'd have to wait another 5-10 mins! ARGH ANNNNND It was RAINING and good. Perfect.

So I wait, the bus comes- I pounce on it along with many other stranded people. I wait and then I hear it, "Is this the bus for Victoria Square for Wicked?"
"No m'am- you want that one headed towards it."The driver points across 4 lanes of traffic on the other street.

CRAP! CRAP! CRAP!

I scrambled off the bus and darted across 4 lanes of traffic and got honked A LOT. Made it alive and the bus C1 JUST pulled up- there were MANY people trying to get on the bus. Though there was a line, I merged into the line- yes cut- dont judge. And held onto the rails to show I WAS ON THE BUS. I pushed my way forward and though I was pressed tightly against someone's rear end I didn't care and another man squeezed against me. I was right against the glass between the driver and the public. He said there were too many and 2 of us had to leave. I SHOVED my way against the people behind me to show we would fit one way or another and the single guy who jumped on pleaded, "Com'n give us a break" The driver gave way and said, just stay out of this blindspot and you'll be grand. So we did.

If I had been able to reach it at the time I would have taken a picture of the Maximum capacity sign which read 48...It was about 84 on the bus. Everytime we stopped for the next 3 stops, somene would claw their way to the frnt and ask if it was the Wicked stop- NO NO and NO!

The Driver finally asked if we all were going to Wicked.

YESSSSSS!

WELL ILL TELL YOU WHEN YOU GET THERE

We literally couldn't stop- we had no room. It was 7:33 and I was SO anxious, but at least I had made it onto the bus. When we got to the station:

WICKED STOP HERE!

An enthusiastic cheer and clap and the single man standing near me offered Sunday dinner to the driver for putting up with us.

As happy as I was to be at the stop, I still had to get to the theatre- I saw it, but I had to sprint and I did in my dress, in my boots, wet hair and coat and ticket crumpled in a sweaty palm.

I made it to the doors at 7:40 and was told I'd have to wait for the next song to end- I FINALLY got my seat at U24 Stalls- good seat, except I sat down and a man about 9 ft tall sat in front and it wouldn't be so bad if he didn't SWAY the ENTIRE time. I finally convinced myself I was there and would enjoy what I COULD see. By the end of the first act, I was a bit ready to go home. But Erin who had reserved the seat next to me calmed me down and was willing to trade spots for the 2nd act. I owe her one. We got ice cream and sat back down and I enjoyed the rest of the musical. I bought a zippie and was glad to go home in one piece- it had been a CRAZY day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 234, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb