Sleeping at the Airport is not fun


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
March 24th 2004
Published: March 24th 2004
Edit Blog Post

TempietoTempietoTempieto

The first building we stumbled onto while we were out looking for things to do while the bus to Ascoli arrived.
Well,
I made my flight on time.  They have super cheap flights within Europe here but you have to be up at the right time to get them.  My flight took off at 6:15 and I was in Rome by 10:00.  Today is the day I meet up with the rest of the class so it will be nice to see a freindly face for a change - little did I know some of those faces would not be friendly. 
The cab driver got a very big tip.  7.00 €.  He suddenly did not understand english when I got out of the cab.  It is very itimidating knowing you are in a country where you do not speak the langauge.  But I met up with everyone. 
In an hours time we meet up with everyone at the right bar.  We meet our italain teacher, who will hopefully teach us to comunicate to people.  She seemed very nice.
We also stumbled across the Tempito - some people who arrived early were looking for that for a week.  Had they bothered to listen in our Architecture classes they would have remebered that the Tempieto is inside a church.  It is a very cute little church.  The paradigm of churches for that time.  I will catch up on all my pictures later.  I am just trying to catch you up on all the things I have done.  
After we were done with the Tempieto we playes guess that dome.  There are so many dominoa in this city.  It is incredible.  It is also a lot more orange than I had pictured it to be.  All shades of orange.  Totally diffrent than a lot of the black and white pictures we seen in class.
We arrived in Ascoli Pieceno around 7:00.  No room service this will be very disapointing later in the stay when you do not feel like walkind down the mountain to get your food.  But the Italain students that we were meeting with had resevered us a table at a local bar.  It is very hard to find tables when they are closed for seista.  This time will become more annoying the longer I am here.  You can find nothing open during siesta. Which is not so bad except we have to work around our school schedule.  So dinner was @ 7:30.  The walk we took there did not seem that  far or long tonight but it was.
Dinner was excellent.   The wine was also good.  It seems that is what goes with all meals here except breakfast.  The city is very beautifull.  A small rural city which is very diffrent that Rome.
Well this wraps up first day of class.  Talk to you later

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb