A little time in the capital


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
March 17th 2006
Published: March 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm not actually in London anymore (I'm back home) but I've spent most of the past few days there doing stuff that can only be done in London. I went straight down to my Aunt Tessa's house in Bow after work on Wednesday (I brought last day brownies; they went down a treat aparrently. Then I did spreadsheets, dossed around and went round saying bye to people. What else do you do on your last day?) and slept in the basement on mats.

The reason for this lovely stay is that I'd been booked onto a travel safety, health and security type course. I'd really gone to put my mother's mind at rest (you know how they are) but it turned out to be quite good: a lot of it was common sense, but not necessarily the sort of common sense you may think of at the time, and it did put me right on a few things. So pretty good then.

I also picked up my tickets, got some stuff from my Aunt's pharmacist (Really nice bloke- I officially plug Region Choice pharmacy on Cambridge Heath Road) and attempted to get visa info at the Indian embassy (Stressful).

I actually really like the Bethnal Green/ Bow area where my Aunt lives. It probably isn't too great at 11:30 in the evening but it feels really alive, like stuff actually happens there. There also seems to be some great community spirit, at least judging by the amount my Aunt and her neighbours seem to look out for each other. Still, I'm not rushing to live there.

The train home from Kings Cross annoys me: I always feel tired after using it for some reason.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb