Hakuna Matata!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
October 6th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's my Birthday!

Decided to take a day off work and go to London (and being that I took quite a few photos and did a lot I thought I blog about it)

We started at HMS Belfast which is somewhere that I have wanted to visit for ages as I have been past it so many times. It is definitely worth a visit as it was really interesting and very well done. It involved going up and down a lot of ladders so it is not a destination for the frail. You could go all over the ship including in the boiler rooms and the shell rooms. It is amazing what things they have on a ship of that size. There was a small hospital/sick bay, dentist, workshop, huge canteen amongst other stuff. There are lots of models (people) to illustrate what it was like on board with various sounds being played to add to the atmosphere. I did not like the dentists at all as I hate the sound of the dentist's drill and it reminded me of my recent teeth trouble!

After that we popped into the Tate Modern for a while. I concluded that a lot of Modern Art is just too weird for my tastes. A blank canvas, A framed mirror and a piece of rope were just a few that failed to impress me! They did have the Kiss by Rodin (or one of the many versions of it) and some cool stuff by Roy Lichtenstein and Jackson Pollock.

After that we headed to Covent Garden as we had tickets for the Lion King. Turned out Covent Garden was a lot further away than the map would imply! After a long walk we found the theatre before heading out for dinner. A lot of the restaurants offer a pre theatre menu meaning that it is much cheaper than usual. We went to Sophie's Steakhouse where we had steak (no surprise there!) It was a really good steak which makes a pleasant change as I find that steak can be a bit hit and miss.

Anyway, on to The Lion King which was really, really good. We strongly recommend it. The sets were amazing. They way they created all the animals was incredibly clever especially the wildebeest stampede. The presence of good songs made it a great production - go and see it!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb