Winter in England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
February 2nd 2009
Published: October 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

LondonLondonLondon

View down our snow covered street in North London
Over the last few weeks the English winter was beginning to get colder and colder. We woke this morning to find our backyard totally covered in snow and it was falling very heavily. I was stunned, I had never seen fresh snow so thick and it was throwing it down with more. I jumped out of bed and ran outside to check out the street, absolutely everything was white, totally covered in snow. I was starting work late this morning but it wasn’t long before I received a message on my phone from the boss, saying don’t bother coming in to work today, apparently all of London was buried in snow. It was said to be the heaviest snowfall in over 20 years, it was so deep, it was difficult to pick which car was mine. I ran back inside grabbed the camera and went photo mad, I was so excited.

Hannah also was told not to bother coming in for work but since she had so much to do, she braved the incredible weather and left for work. I turned the television on which showed pictures of central London covered in white snow, it was beautiful. It seemed as
LondonLondonLondon

Our white winter backyard, it was throwing it down with snow!
all of London just shut down due to the extreme weather, barely anyone was going into work today. It continued to snow throughout the day, so I spent most of it inside, peering out the window. Later in the afternoon I decided to brave the weather and head down to Tesco’s. I brushed the snow off my car as best I could and since I had never driven on ice before had a really interesting and slippery drive there. I had to remember to brake really early because when I did my car still seemed to continue forward just sliding to a stop.

06/02/2009 - That weekend Hannah and I were attending a wedding up in the Yorkshire Moors. On the drive up the countryside was covered in snow, it was beautiful. Once we arrived at Hannah’s parent’s house in Batley, we had a walk around the small town which was also buried in snow, I took my camera and got some fantastic photos. Hannah and I took the drive up to the Yorkshire Moors and stayed at a guesthouse in a farm which was fantastic. The wedding was great, and the reception was held in the pub owned
LondonLondonLondon

Our snow covered tree in our backyard
by their family, it was awesome. However when it was time to head home I stepped outside and nearly froze instantly. I had never ever felt cold as I have that night, just standing outside was painful. Once we got home that night we were just glad to jump into a warm bed and sleep.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

LondonLondon
London

My company car, totally buried in snow!
BatleyBatley
Batley

Yorkshire countryside near Hannah's house, covered in snow
BatleyBatley
Batley

Winter dusk at Hannah's parents house in Yorkshire


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb