"I'm not Walking"


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
June 24th 2007
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

LondonLondonLondon

Will has visions of royalty!!
Blog Motto
6/24/07 “I’m not Walking…”
By Justin

Welcome to the blog of the Sornberger’s European adventure.
Wow…I can’t believe we are finally here. Let’s hope we do
better than the Griswald’s. So far we so good.

We arrived in London 4 days ago, tired and with a surreal
fog in my brain that this time had finally come after so
much planning. Our last few days at home were a hectic mix
of social time with friends and family combined with
moving.(in 105 degrees, Scott was happy!) I sure hope that
all that work is worth it. The things we do…

London is a huge city. I happen to like Paris and New York
better. The pace here is actually faster than New York if
one can believe it. They also can use a little of Rudy
Giuliani’s time cleaning the place up after he loses in the
primaries. It is quite fun however. We are staying in the
flat of a nice hostess. She is nice and helpful and we are
getting a deal for Central London. This place in ungodly
expensive…it doesn’t help having retail Will with you. That
kid is a merchant’s dream
London2London2London2

Will and a Beefeater
come true. Every stop we make he
has something he is begging to buy. Teaching these kids he
has two unemployed parents on a budget has been a challenge.
He brought some spending money and he will be out soon!

We had a great time visiting the Tower of London. That was
Will’s favorite place. He loved learning about the 4 King
Williams of England. He bought a crown in hopes that
somehow he has a shot at being William the V or VI. (Watch
out Prince Will’s, you have competition) We also took a
great boat trip up the Thames. We went to Greenwich but
didn’t make it to the Maritime Museum. (Sorry Dave). We
tried to see the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace
but it was canceled this morning due to rain. If that is
often the case they may never have it, as it has rained
everyday we have been here. Today we went to the British
Museum and left 40 minutes later. Will hated it and it was
so crowded. We then headed to Camden Town and went to the
Camden markets. It was great fun. We all loved it. My
favorite part of London so far!!

The highlight of London for Scott was the hour we spent in
Hambly’s…the 7 floor toy store. One of the biggest in the
world!! It involved a long visit to a pub afterwards….two
pints later we emerged! Our favorite quotes so far came
from Justin…in the middle of the second day he said while we
were wandering around London…”I’m not walking…I need to find
a ride.” Boy this kid is in for a shock. Not only has he
had to walk all over the city and up and down the tube
steps…wait till he gets to Paris! Justin has also shown
great insight since arriving here….the first night we were
so lost…miles out of our way in the rain. I was ready to
say forget this…and he said…”I want to stay and see if we
get it together.” I liked that. I loved watching the kids
see and experience new things. Learning about new money,
meeting new people and being so interested in their new
surroundings. We have slowly been getting it together.
Each day we make progress towards adapting to a life that is
so different from that in Walnut Creek. One that includes
tons of walking.


Advertisement



24th June 2007

Thanks!
Hi Sornberger's: Well, this is so exciting. I feel as if I'm in London all over again. I'm sure Kelli will agree as well. Please keep us updated with wonderful comments like this - especially from the kids' perspectives - so refreshing! Technology is so wonderful that we get to visit Europe vicariously through the Sornberger's! Yeah!
25th June 2007

You're a blogger
I'm glad to see the blog is up and running. This will be a great way to keep up with you as well as get first hand reports on some parts of the world we might not get the chance to see. You should be in Bath by now (June 25 at 5:45 PM your time). I look forward to hearing (reading? seeing?) all about your time there. The news from Northern California includes warm temps., Pride Weekend in SF, and the Giants snapping an 8 game losing streak by beating the Yankees twice this weekend. We went down the coast to Pescdero yesterday to check out the historic town (some buildings are over 100 years old!), bird watch in a coastal marsh, and hang out on the beach. It's not Europe, but we may at least have you beat in the weather department. Dave--
26th June 2007

WOW
London......wow! there you are it is beautiful in the back round Hope you guys are having fun!!! your friend, Nicole Miller
26th June 2007

Keeping up!
LOVED your first "diary" entry and Will's new nickname! I won't share that with Terry though! I'm "telling you so" right now, I TOLD you this would be the adventure of a lifetime, it is already proving so! Will follow your blog with envy and interest... hugs to all, Kd
26th June 2007

we miss you
on honey, i am green with envy. you never did ask me if i wanted to join you. would have happily been your pack mule. i'm in san francisco and truly missing you. i'll be seeing you in france -- probably december. sold betsy's house before i arrived in sf. love you so much. hello to your dudes. ashley
27th June 2007

Hecka tight
Hey Justin you were very descriptive I hope you have fun in France Your Friend, Connor.
13th September 2007

school
hi justin I hope your having fun. We just had our 1 week of school in foothill! It was awsome. I hope you come back soon!
19th February 2008

a fantastic itinerary -impossible to beat!
Hi there Cindy and Scott, I've just happened to read or actually skim through the text , but I'm definitely going to read it all over and over again... There are things in life one cannot purchase and you definitely know what I am talking about! That was a life experience, especially for your kids. On seeing those wonderful photos, larger than life, makes me want to sail away myself...ok, let's get back to reality; I visited England and Scotland a couple of years ago and those photos brought back so many memories...and yes, Holland is a special place on Earth, I saw it and want to go back there...As to France, it remains a kind of down-to-earth romanticism...Do you agree that the Sacre Coueu has got that special light one cannot forget after seeing it (The ancient Latins would call it Illuminatio mea). All I can say is, thanks for sharing your wonderful experience with my family and myself; wish you all the best !

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb