Home for now in London town


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Kilburn
October 26th 2008
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After time in Dubai and Paris, I'm now settled in London. The first few days were filled with the touristy stuff (Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Oxford Circus shopping, West End musical etc) then I found a place to live and a job to finance the travel! All has been good and a really easy move...thankfully!

London's funny, I think you either love it or you hate it. So far I'm just taking it all in and going with the flow. My first friday and saturday nights were awesome. The first club I went to had been converted from horse stables...so random! I've since been hanging out with an old mate who I've known since we were seven. With the help of stalkerbook I've caught up with heaps of long lost mates who have come over and found the grass greener over here.

I checked out a West End musical just after arriving which was awesome. My aunty Meagan was here for a few days before I settled in so we went to Phantom of the Opera at Her Majesty's Theatre. I'll definately be seeing more productions. At one point in the show a huge chandelier dropped from the ceiling above us and the Phantom came out from behind it, very cool set-up and use of the stage. There's about 30 musicals on at the moment, so I think I'll pick a handful and check them out. Dirty Dancing, Les Mis, Grease....love it!

I was really lucky and found a place to live in the first week. Most of the places over here are absolute dives...cold, old and heaps of people sharing...one place I looked at had 10 people in one house, mainly Aussies...no thanks! And that's not uncommon. What's the point in going to another country and living with Australians?? Especially the bogan Australians! A friend of a friend set me up with a place, just 15 minutes northwest of the city with two lovely English girls. It's very handy when I'm trying to get around and they give me little tips and places I should check out. Funny also that I think both of them have seen more of Australia than I have! My new place is, wait for it..........on Shoot-Up Hill! That's exactly where you want to tell your mum you're living in another country! It does however explain the Bentley's and Mercs getting around the neighbourhood though. There's a lot of small grocers around the main street and makes me miss the supermarkets, where you can get everything in one place. There are supermarkets like Sainsburys and Marks & Spencer, but they aren't the same. The poms are definately big on ready made meals. I went to a supermarket yesterday and there were three aisles of ready made meals...bizarre! There are also these funny little grocers that sell fruit and vege by the bowl. It's generally a pound a bowl, interesting concept. Nice to see booze in the supermarket though. I find it funny that I'm all into trying international wines while my flatmates drink Australian wine! I have to admit Australian wine is better than the ones I've tried so far though. Another cool thing about where I live is that there's a bus that takes you straight into the city..via Abbey Road! I get goosebumps everytime I go past the studio and the bus always has to stop for people crossing the famous Beatles crossing. Love it!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My new hood!My new hood!
My new hood!

Who came up with that!?!
My new place @ Kendal CourtMy new place @ Kendal Court
My new place @ Kendal Court

I paid extra for sun and blue skies!


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb