First Day of Work--They Really Do Drink A Lot Of Tea


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
June 12th 2012
Published: June 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first day of work! The idea of working in a different country did not really hit me until I got on the bus. I simply get on a bus right outside my residence and get off about 25 minutes later. The nerves really started to kick in once I was en route, but once I made it there I took a deep breath and relaxed. Naturally I arrived way too early (40 minutes), so to kill time I went into a cafe called Nude Espresso and got a delicious skim latte while I waited. I learned that you should familiarize yourself with the coins as there are a ton and you seem to be drowing in them after only a few days.

The office itself is only two floors, but has an awesome curvy staircase. Today was simply a day for me to read their "Bible," make LOTS of tea, and start working on basic office work. One thing I'll be doing is posting a film quote of the day on the twitter and facebook pages--I can choose a quote and then I must attach a Youtube video of the quote. That was really fun as I have the freedom to pick a quote and get involved with the social networking sites.

After my quote of the day I took my lunch (a whole hour) with a fellow co-worker, Nick. He is from the UK and showed me around Spitalfield's Market, some popular bars, and great Indian restaurants. Each day I'd like to try a different place for lunch as there are endless amounts of places.

Upon returning from work I discovered I have already been assigned a project! The marketing department is looking to expand its social networking platform and is interested in starting a blog. To start off I am supposed to research what other film companies are doing in terms of their blogs and get to know the types of users who subscribe to these blogs. I did not expect them to give me work like this right away.

Finally, I was sent on an errand to the post office. Let's just say that was an adventure. London is a very confusing city and well, I got lost. However, I did get the items in the mail and found my way back to the office.

It has been a long day, but a good one. I look forward to learning more this week and updating everyone on my experiences! Now if I could decide on which places to spend my Fridays and not be so indecisive, that would be great!!

~Kayleigh

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb