Hyde Park and Harrods


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
September 25th 2008
Published: September 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The GroupThe GroupThe Group

Here's Kate, Natalie, Anthony, Brian and me in front of a beautiful arch that we couldn't find any information on.
Orientation has been this week and we finally registered for classes today. I have International Business Strategy, Organizational Behavior, Principles of Marketing, European Studies and Historic London. All I'm really looking forward to is Historic London - weekly field trips to all the major sites in London.

I went to Hyde Park today which is the Central Park of London. Honestly, I was a little disappointed. There were gardens and fountains and statues but it didn't really do anything for me. Everything was man-made and the history behind the statues weren't always provided. It was beautiful but nothing was "real." I think I'm a mountain girl for life. I am going back though to see the Peter Pan statue and the memorial to Princess Di.

We took a walk around the city from Hyde Park all the way to Harrods. It's the MAJOR department store in London. It's so big and so famous that the store has a gift shop of itself. Not only is it full of designer dresses, shoes and jewerly, there is a full grocery store. Actually it's more like a market - fresh fruit, vegetables, fish, meat, cheese and pre-made meals. It's overwhelming. But as always, there was drama. Besides the fact that there are metal detectors at every entrance to the store, the security guards have the right to not allow everyone into the store. There were 5 people in my group and at the first entrance we were all turned down. Granted we weren't dressed for the Oscars, we still looked presentable. We moved to another entrance and Brian and I snuck through and were the only ones allowed in. It was ridiculous! The three people left outside haven't bought cell phones yet so we had no way to contact them. Why am I always in these kinds of situations?!?!?! Brian and I didn't know what to do for a while, but security was staring us down so we decided to walk through the store. Long story short, the other group was allowed in and we met up in the middle of the sushi section of the market.

We are taking a train to Scotland tomorrow morning and I have no idea what to expect! It will be my first adventure out of England. It's over a 4 hour train ride so I went to the bookstore so I would have something to do. I found a book called "Hangover Square." It's some kind of a twisted love story. But I bought it mainly because it is set in London, 1939 and the main character lives and parties at Earl's Court - the Tube station where Brian and I were reunited!!! It should be an interesting read.

It's time to pack my plaid and head off to Scotland!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Brian and the SquirrelBrian and the Squirrel
Brian and the Squirrel

Brian befriended this squirrel who followed him around for an impressive amount of time. We've decided to call Brian Bear Grylls now.


25th September 2008

That Squirrel
That squirrel looks terrifying!
26th September 2008

El Corte Ingles lookalike
SO you have Harrod's and I have El Corte Ingles, an 8 story department store complete with a restaurant at the top and a supermarket and travel agency at the bottom! This place is also ridiculous, but less fancy... Spain may not be as high class as London, but it tries to do it big... okay that's all I got for now! Try to find our STA skirt in Scotland for me! thanks!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb