Wine and Cheese


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
September 25th 2008
Published: September 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tonight the university hosted a "Wine and Cheese Reception" for the study abroad students. I arrived with my friends (Natalie and Kate) fashionably late and by then there was very little food and a lot of wine! We met another group of American girls from Denver, Colorado and pretty much finished the remaining wine bottles. The study abroad officers gave us several questionable looks.

The reception was supposed to be an opportunity to meet other students in the program, preferably from other countries. But I think everyone is still adjusting to being in another country and found other students from the same. Natalie, Kate and I spent a while scoping the room for either hot foreign men or Americans. Sadly, the Americans were easier to find. Hopefully that will change. The Denver girls were great though. They are all juniors and each of the three Marquette girls actually shared friends with the girls in Denver. Small world!

After the reception, the girls took us to a pub that they have been going to. It's called The Agricultural. Where do these names come from?

Here's a quick note on London fashion. I was told that Londoners are at the top of fashion and what they are wearing now will be seen in America in a few months. It's not looking good for the US. I thought it was so exciting that there were so many schools around my small part of the city - every girl I saw had plaid, school-girl skirts and knee-high socks. I learned later that what I thought were uniforms are actually the latest fashion. Ew! After going out for a few nights, the females in London are also all over uncomfortable looking glittery, sparkly, itchy shirts, over ballerina tights. Can't wait...It doesn't get any better for the guys. If the London style really does come to the States, our boys will be wearing skinny jeans, pointy or square toe loafers, Keds and MAN PURSES!

I know this is a short entry but I'm finally registering for classes tomorrow and the boys below me are blaring Kelly Clarkson music so it will be tough getting to sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb