Cheerio from Heathrow


Advertisement
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Even though I did get to lie down I just could not sleep. In fact, I didn’t sleep the entire trip. I worked it out and was awake for 53 hours on 2 and a half hours sleep. But surprisingly last night after getting off the plane I felt ok. Now I feel like crap, but last night I was pretty good. I’ve been travelling constantly for 38 hours, and still have another 7 hours to go. But it’s all an adventure. After getting off the plane I was told a taxi to my airport hotel would be cheapest 35 pound. Looking back now I probably should of just spent the money, but I did get to go on a little adventure at 10pm on a cool Sunday evening. I walked with my 30kg suitcase to the Central Bus Station (about 10 minutes walk) and asked how to get to my hotel. Two ladies told me to get the H4 Hotel Hoppa, and this would drop me across the road. I bought my ticket and thought I was set. Until I got on this H4 and a lovely bus driver informed me he goes nowhere near my hotel; that I would need to get a H5 bus to Terminal 5 and then transfer onto a H57. I thought ‘why not’? I might as well save myself the 35 pound and go on an adventure. The first H5 bus came straight away, and on it I met a jolly American lady who had travelled over for the Olympics. When she exited it was just me and one grumpy English driver. The drive wasn’t very scenic, but I did glimpse my first couple of English pubs which I almost cannot wait to go into. We went through some pretty shady looking places and I was just hoping he wouldn’t stop and tell me this is where I get my next bus. Luckily we went back into a Terminal bus station and I waited along with everyone else for hotel bus transfers. It was pretty smooth sailing from there once my bus eventually got there. One thing I knew before I left that I would hate is my inability to manoeuvre my own suitcase very easily. Luckily so far two out of three people who have seen me struggling with it have offered to help, and the one that didn’t was the previously mentioned grump of a bus driver. Now I’m sitting in my Travelodge room having woken up about 2 hours before my alarm (jet lag is wearing on me a bit), and should really go and get ready to have some breakfast and hit the road again to the next stop, Wales. So from London, cheerio.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb