Heathrow


Advertisement
Published: August 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Before I get into this whole blog thing I just wanted to again thank everyone who has supported me in my journey to get over to Ethiopia. This experience means a lot to me, and I'm so grateful I have such a strong support network back home and abroad(which will come soon).
Back to my update though, just arrived into Heathrow and completed part one of my trip. Of course I put my Euroconveter in my checked bag so I can't use my labtop, just paid 3 pounds for a half hour of internet! Not too much else to report on, laid over in London for 11 hours, not really sure how I am going to kil the time without being lured into one of the airport money traps. I think its about 6:00 a.m. back home, so good morning everyone! Ill check in again hopefully when I arrive in Addis tomorrow morning!

Advertisement



13th September 2011

Greetings
Peter, by now I hope you know what a special person Ato Simon is. He has been a high level official in the Eth government; he has been an employee of the United Nations; he is a person with a kind heart; we are so grateful he has offered to help smoothen your entry into Ethiopia. Did you know that when Mary and I were trying to first contact the new school, Ato Simon was the one who put us in contact with Brother Kassu. FYI: if you have not yet discovered it: "Ato" is the polite way to refer to older, respected people--it is like referring to them as "Mister". And Ato Simon's name is pronounced Ato "sea-moan", not like Simon in simple simon. Learn lots and contribute where you can.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb