South Africa 2023


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Croydon
July 16th 2023
Published: July 16th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Travel GuidesTravel GuidesTravel Guides

Helping me to navigate the region
Dear All

Greetings on the eve of my big summer journey 2023! I am all packed and ready to begin a 40-day trip through South Africa beginning tomorrow. I'm very excited, although I must admit a little nervous. It's the biggest trip I've done in quite a while, and compared with Scandinavia last year which was of equal length, it is a little further away and may require a bit more travel savviness which I've not used in a while. But very exciting nonetheless!

This is actually the trip I was planning for the summer of 2020, but we all know what happened at that time. I've pretty much rekindled the exact same journey, with the only difference being replacing the South African "Baz Bus" to travel through South Africa, with hiring a car from Cape Town to Johannesburg instead. This I think will give me more freedom, and works out pretty much around the same in price. I also have a bit of experience of hiring cars to work with now, so hopefully the only new challenge will be driving the South African roads, rather than the whole rental car experience.

So tomorrow I fly from London
Travel KitTravel KitTravel Kit

What I'm taking
Heathrow to Cape Town with Lufthansa via Frankfurt, which I'm excited about as I've never flown Lufthansa before, and have also never been to Europe's equivalent to Heathrow before. I spend four days in Cape Town, before picking up my hire car and beginning a two-week road trip to Johannesburg, along the Garden Route, then the Wild Coast up to Durban, through the Drakensberg Mountains, to Bloemfontein and Kimberley, and finally on to Johannesburg. There I'll return my car and base myself in this city for three separate forays from there - firstly a flight to Lesotho and back for five days, then another to Swaziland (or eSwatini as it is now called) and back for another five days, followed by a three-night safari into Krueger National Park, then a final few days in Jo'burg, before flying home again with Lufthansa via Frankfurt once more.

It looks to be a pretty epic adventure I must say, and researching this trip has reminded me what an awesome and amazing country South Africa seems to be. I look forward very much to exploring it!

As with all my recent trips, I plan to just write notes as I travel, and
My BackpacksMy BackpacksMy Backpacks

Carrying my worldly good for 40 days
publish my Travel Blog entries on here just when I return. And again as with recent trips, I do plan to post updates and photos on Facebook as I travel though.

So, until Facebook, or until the end-of-August/beginning-of-September on here when I plan to start writing properly, all the best for now, and South Africa - here I come!

Alex

Advertisement



17th July 2023

Summer Journey
Those traveler skills will come back ever so quickly. You have mapped out an amazing trip. We are eager to read more.
18th July 2023

Summer Journey
Thanks MJ! I think you're right. I've just arrived in Cape Town, and walked straight through the taxi touts at the airport as I always used to do - those traveller skills are starting to return, lol!
17th July 2023
My Backpacks

Packed and Ready
Time to go! 40 days of joy.
18th July 2023
My Backpacks

Packed and Ready
Indeed! 40 seems like a good number 😊
18th July 2023

How exciting!
Wow, this sounds like a fabulous, epic trip Alex! I would love to see South Africa, especially a safari in Krueger National Park. Our safari in Kenya was so amazing, I'm sure you will have an equally unforgettable time. Looking forward to reading all about it - happy travelling!
18th July 2023

Thanks Lori!
Thanks Lori! I'm really excited about this one, it does seem rather epic! I'm looking forward indeed to Krueger 😊
13th September 2023

Another Epic Journey
Alex, it seems to me that all your journeys are epic! But, it was exciting to read that your previously planned journey to South Africa was finally becoming a reality!
14th September 2023

Epic
Ah, good point - they have been pretty epic of late, and I'm planning a few more epic ones too! It was great to finally get to do South Africa!
20th September 2023

I am going to read them all
I will happily read all your blog entries from SA. /Ake
21st September 2023

Thank you!
Yay! Thank you Ake 😊
13th March 2024

Lufthansa
Flown with Lufthansa a couple of time and thought they were a good airline. I'll find out your experience in the next blog. This sounds an interesting trip
13th March 2024

South Africa
Yay, you're doing well to catch up with my blogs Alan! I thought Lufthansa was a good airline, well-organised in that oh-so-German way, and solid, experienced staff.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 20; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb