London sites


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Balham
May 10th 2011
Published: May 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Big BenBig BenBig Ben

From across the Thames
Today was a day of walking around the city. I had a few errands to run, so it gave me the chance to explore and just see things. It was nice walking along Whitehall and past the houses of Parliament. I walked across Westminster Bridge, which for those who don't know the city, is right beside Big Ben (houses of Parliament). It's the way that I get into the city every day. More fun to travel via busses I find then the tube, I can see the sites via bus, although tube is faster.

I found 10 Downing Street by pure luck, it did help that I was walking instead of travelling in a bus. There was a large gathering at the gates to the street and a motor cade was setting up. It would appear, I was passed by the Prime Minister of Britain's motor cade. No unfortunately I didn't see him. But kinda neat none-the-less. (and no I wouldn't get even that excited to see my own Prime Minister.)

I went into London's largest book store today to see what I could find in the way of history books. Gotta saw, it was very modern. Reminded me
MeMeMe

Me and Big Ben, before going on the Eye
of any bookstore I'd find back home. A little disappointing in that way, although I should have realized since it's not an old bookshop it would be more "modern". One day soon, I will go into some of the older bookshops to explore.

I did a very touristy thing today, I went on the London Eye. I wasn't going to do it, but my cousin's wife said she'd do it with me, so we went. And let me tell you, it was brilliant. I got to see the city. The sites were well worth the cost of the 40 minute trip. It was amazing. If one is afraid of heights, not something they should do, but otherwise well worth the trip.

We did it just before dusk, when the sun was low in the sky. It made the city look picturesque. Downside, for certain shots the sun was in the way or caused a glare in the picture. But despite that, amazing none the less. I saw St. Paul's Cathedral for the first time today and Buckingham Palace. I've been here almost a week, and those are two sites I haven't seen yet, go figure. They will come.
The ViewThe ViewThe View

A picture of Parliament from the London Eye


Being that high up, you can see the entire city. For the most part it's just dots on the landscape, but still pretty cool. I was able to see Hyde Park from the Eye, which showed me roughly how far north of the city I'd been. It's amazing to see the old buildings then new ones and in many parts there is suck greenery it's beautiful. London is very lucky in that way. You see the stone and the brick and then patches of green. It's a site for sure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb