National Gallery, Covent Garden and Regent Parking


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Acton
May 20th 2009
Published: May 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Anne writes:
Used the London Bus System this morning, I prefer it. I feel like I am in control , I can sit with the map on my knee and follow where the driver of the big bendy bus is taking us, Secondly it is not hot and smelly like the underground, there were loads of seats and it left from our front gate and took us all the way to our destination the Nationla Gallery.
National Gallery, number 2 on Trip Advisor after the Big Fat Tires and I agree.
Billions of dollars of amazing works of art and all the world can just troop in and gawp. Fantastic. I could have stayed all day. I particularly enjoyed freeloading on the guided tours for school kids. Some of the people explaining the art to the little Londoners were gifted in the way they were able to make the painting come alive and for a peasant like me their talks were pitched at just the right level about 7.5.
A tasty lunch at the seemingly healthy Pret chain -my chicken and mushroom soup couldn't be faulted and then a wee walk to Covent Gardens,
The street performers always delight and the big black dude was failing to gather a crowd with his diablo skills, so he invited James over to learn how to throw and catch a diablo, which was a bonus.
We succumbed to the Kind cartoonist and James now has another portrait to add to the one done by the Bro Town cartoonist, we also paid £5 for the pack of trick cards, so James can continue to amaze us with his magic tricks.
Another walk to Charing Cross and a quick trip to Regent Park to play on the playground that James spotted the other day after the zoo trip.
I needed the sit down, and wished I had brought my book and James played with the locals. We then ambled home through Camden. Home very footsore and letting the rest of the household set off for their weekly AFL league while I sit, put my feet up and have a drink and read a book all on my own.

Tomorrow nwill be spent finalising arrangements for Paris which we leave for early on Friday morning.

Advertisement



21st May 2009

Buses are tops
I agree about the buses. When I lived in London, I took a bus over the Tube when I had the choice. Not only is a "Day ticket" cheaper, you get to see where you're going and you don't get all that "Tube grime" up your nose...
21st May 2009

Bustling London
Love the big double-deckers. The Tube might be quicker, but for sight-seeing, hopping on a bus is the way to go, especially if tou get the front seat on the top deck. National Gallery, apart from the bustle and colour of Trafalgar Square, has a truly magnificent collection, better IMHO than that of the Louvre.
24th May 2009

I love going to the National Gallery especially because there are a couple of portraits there by ancestors of mine, but really because the other portraits are truly wonderful. Even if I can only spare a few moments I will always drop by for a while.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb