And so home....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire
April 17th 2007
Published: April 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The last couple of days in Lukla we spent relaxing, shopping, recovering. Those of you who might be thinking that I did jolly well for the first time on an Asia holiday not to get a tummy upset, knowing my history, alas, I fell at the last fence after a meal at Rum Doodle's. Possibly the worst meal of my life and then spent one of the worst night's of my life trying to work out which end of me took priority in the bathroom.

Kathmandu got hotter and hotter, really quite hard to bear after the freshness of the mountains (yes I know I was whinging about the cold earlier but I'm like that) and yesterday we knew it was time to come home.

It has been (with apologies to Dickens) 'the best of times and the worst of times' but I wouldn't change it for the world. I feel I've left a bit of my heart in the mountains. I shall miss the scenery, the people, the challange, the early mornings scented with pine forests ansd resin, the yak bells, the purple alliums, the towering white giants, birsong, riverrunnning, stonewalls, woodsmoke....but not the beer.

If anyone's up for it I may be organsing an Annapurna trip. Si says he doesn't want to come but if you do......?

Namaste!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb