Big Cats on the loose in the Cotswolds


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire » Painswick
December 6th 2020
Published: December 6th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Big Cat WarningBig Cat WarningBig Cat Warning

Can you believe this in the Cotswold
Well Mike's aunt is going to be 90 and so we decided to pop down to Banbury and see her - of course she would sit in the garage and we would sit in the garden so socially distanced - had to wait until lockdown was over before we knew we could come here. However, on the way we decided at the last minute to do another leg of the Cotswold Way. So we decided to stay in Painswick where we finished our last walk on the Cotswold Way earlier on in the year. I thought Painswick would have some lovely little shops where I could finish my Christmas shopping. How wrong can you be, seems there are only 4 shops in the whole town and one of them is a small supermarket.

Anyway, we set off from Painswick on our 10 mile walk to Middleyard after having a very nice and plentiful continental breakfast - we were the only people staying at the B&B so breakfast was really quiet including no staff. They put the breakfast out for you - not good when you want a nice hot cup of tea and they left the hot water in a
My shoes My shoes My shoes

After 1/2 hr cleaning them!
thermos jug. However, it was plentiful so cannot complain.

The first part of the walk was okay. There were supposed to be lovely views but to be honest it was a grey day with mist so probably did not choose the best of days to see amazing views of the Cotswolds. So like I said the first part of the walk was great but then it changed and boy did it change. If you have never been to the Cotswolds you probably do not know what the soil is like. Well let me tell you it is like clay and when it gets wet it is so slippery. At some points I felt like I was on ice and I can tell you I am no Jayne Torvill, more like an elephant on ice. I missed out on the finesse of being on ice! It got so slippery at one stage going down a steep hill I thought I am going to end up on my backside - well you do not need a crystal ball - that is exactly what happened. So I am slip sliding down the hill and using a stick I picked up to help me - so Mike is behind and I shout do you want me to throw the stick up to you to help you come down the slope (bad move on my part!!) so he shouts yes that would be great. Now here comes the point I end up on my backside. As I am trying to throw the stick I slip and end up on my backside and the stick is about 1 foot in front of me. So not only are my shoes six sizes bigger due to the amount of clay on them, my trousers are now full of clay and I hurt my wrist trying to break my fall.

So you are probably wondering why have I called this blog "Big Cats on the loose in the Cotswolds". Well we cross a little lane to get to the next field and what is on the fence but a sign telling us BIG CATS are loose in this area! It also tells you what to do if you see one i.e. don't show you are scared (WTF who in their right minds would not be scared if they saw a Big Cat in front of them!!!!). Also to wave your arms above your head to make yourself look bigger - I am okay here as I have a big stick (poor Mike - who hasn't got a stick) typical Paula I'm alright Jack, ha ha.

Anyway who do you think went first into the field - well you know it would not be me if there are any BIG CATS around I don't want to be the one who sees them first. So I follow on and keep my wits about me with my stick ready to wave over my head which is not easy when you are Torvilling your way down wet clay I can tell you.

Well my shoes are now so full of clay I am struggling to lift my feet and keep my shoes on as the clay has got so much suction my heels are coming out of my shoes - all I need next is my shoes sticking in the clay and my foot comes out and I end up putting a sock in the mud! Anyway, someone was looking up at me as this did not happen. So we are now back at the B&B.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb