Staying at the 'King's Oasis'


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Monday morning finds me still lounging around at the 'hotel' King's Oasis (a.k.a Adam's house), with the grand total of zero miles under my belt. We did climb a hill yesterday to get a beautiful rained in view of Cheltenham and surrounds so I haven't at all been idle. Also, for all those considering a stay at King's Oasis in the future, dont think that it is all spa's and relaxation. There is at least an hour of yoga to do everyday, as well as a rigorous entertainment schedule at the science fair. I have been improving mind and body and now know a lot more about symmetry in nature, penises, beer brewing, the race to get a vehicle to cross the 1000 mile per hour barrier, and trekking to the south pole.

And then ... tuesday, wednesday ... fly by ... and then thursday, friday, saturday and it's already sunday and they dont actually seem to have the internet in Cornwall.

And then, another oasis ... Porthtowan Backpackers. My feet are grateful, my dirty skin and sunburned/hayfevered nose is grateful, my need to let everyone know I haven't fallen off a cliff is grateful ... they have allowed me a few minutes to let you know I am okay. Five days treeking down ... along the South West Coast Path. It is a killer. Gradients are insane ... I have already torn a hole in the bum of my trousers, and the ballfrocks are muddy, from sliding down rocks and gravelly paths, and a (luckily only one) day os mud and rain ... but it is great! Around about 66 kms done. Sounds small I know, but I feel proud and all other walkers think I am insane (there are a lot of reasons that they may think that though -- going to John O'Groats - the long way- ballgowns, the sheer size of my pack, Wesley the Beaver).

Hopefully more details soon.

Advertisement



15th June 2009

fantastic start
G'day matey!! Reading your words makes me miss you heaps and as always makes me want to leave the nappies and taxi car and join you on you adventure. Until that becomes a reality I shall live vicarously though you. You descriptions are great and make me feel like I am there. Keep it up even if it is just a little snippet. 66ks is good. Sounds like it is all you had hoped and more. Things are good here. Assignments finished and living a more relaxed life. Miss you heaps. look forward to the next installement. Love from us all to you. D
28th June 2009

Hi from Mahons
Hey matey, Been missing you heaps this week. I find myseld with no major deadlines and stressful scramblings and longing for coffee with my cofffee buddy. Benji turned 2 on Saturday and his favorite auntly was a notable absense. We miss you and hope you are trekking happily and safely. Cant wait for your next installment. Love and big hugs from us all to you D

Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.2051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb