My Royal Danish trip - Prelude


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex » Stansted Airport
November 9th 2007
Published: December 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Everything has a beginning, and for my trip to Copenhagen, the beginning takes place in Stansted Airport.

This is my first trip out of the UK ever since I arrived at UK at the end of July. (I'm working in Slough for 18 months from August 2007.) I chose Copenhagen as my first "out-of-UK" trip because my cousin was having student exchange there and I wanted to visit him. Being budget-conscious, my friends and I decided to take a budget flight from London to Copenhagen. Out of the numerous airports in South East England, Heathrow is the nearest to my home, but unfortunately there's no budget carriers operating from Heathrow. So we chose a Easyjet flight from Stansted to Copenhagen. To maximise our time in Copenhagen, we decided to take an early flight (departing Stansted at 7am). However, Stansted is very far from my home (more than 3 hours of travelling time).... So, in order to catch our flight in time, we would have to reach Stansted the night before and sleep in the airport overnight.

We took the last Easybus from London to Stansted, left London at 22:10 and reached Stansted at 23:30. In Stansted, we walked around the terminal looking for a place to spend our nights. When we walked around, we saw a number of travellers already sleeping - beside the walls, beside pillars, on the chairs, beside the chairs, under the chairs, etc. While looking for a suitable place to sleep, we also visited the baggage repacking area (and grabbed a couple of free zip-loc bags) and visited a Boots store to buy some food and drinks.

In the end, we decided to sleep at the end of the terminal, under the big glass windows. My friend Elsa immediately opened her sleeping bag, crawled inside and then drifted into sleepyland. My other friends and I didn't bring sleeping bags, so we slept on the floor... After sleeping for 2 or 3 hours, we began to feel very cold (probably because of the big glass windows). For the next few hours, we fluctuated between consciousness and unconsciousness, and everytime we were conscious we were shivering in the cold. At 4am, we could no longer sleep, as the check-in counters opposite us opened and there were a long queue in front of us. So we got up and walked around the terminal. It was quite amazing to see most of the shops open before 5am, while the sky outside was still dark.

After washing up and having our breakfast, we entered the security area and waited for our plane to take us to a whole new world....


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

I have a very big bag!I have a very big bag!
I have a very big bag!

(At least I follow the 1 bag rule... Haha)
Check-in queues at 4amCheck-in queues at 4am
Check-in queues at 4am

I was still lying on the floor when I took this photo.
Our Easyjet planeOur Easyjet plane
Our Easyjet plane

(My friend Elsa was reflected on the glass window)


Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 53; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb