I'm back!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Eastbourne
September 30th 2008
Published: September 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Anjali HouseAnjali HouseAnjali House

The outside of the project
My last day at Anjali House was really nice...we spent the morning playing games and dancing and in the afternoon we watched Finding Nemo. My last English lesson was good too. Because we were still doing the letter G I made it a bit more interesting. You see, games start with G and Hangman has a G in it so that's what we did for an hour. Then I gave them some smelly pens as a little goodbye pressie. We had a lot of fun and it was really sad when it came to the end of the day and it was time to say goodbye. All the kids gathered downstairs and I was given my certificate and lots of cards made by the kids. Some of the boys even picked me some flowers and made them in to a little bunch. Very cute. I said my goodbyes and managed not to cry and gave them a little thankyou card. It had just started tp rain and I ran outside to my tuk tuk with all the kids waving at me from the doorway. It was then in the tuk tuk whilst driving through all the sewege ridden puddles that I
Me and all the kidsMe and all the kidsMe and all the kids

Saying goodbye...
got a little emotional.

We had a good night out on the Wednesday as a farewell and eventually crawled home at about 4am. It made trying to get ready to pack the next day a little interesting but I managed it. I said even more goodbyes to all the brilliant friends I had made and it was off to the airport. But, it seemed that I was destined to say my goodbyes again cause thanks to the date on the ticket I wasn't flying out until Friday so I got yet another tuk tuk back to the guesthouse. All the others had gone to the pub quiz at the funky monkey so I went in to surprise them and we ended up having a really good night. We spent most of it on the roof top bar just chillin and then on Friday I left again and finally made it on to another plane.

The first plane was ok but then I landed in Korea and had 7 1/2 hours to kill. I was incredibly tempted to get a room at the airport hotel but they wanted £45 for 6 hours. So I found a mini cinema type place and slept in there for a few hours.
The second flight was sooooooo long. I also had no idea what the time was cause my watch was on Cambodian time and my phone on English time and I needed to see the Korean time. It meant that I had no idea how long I had been in the air or how long I had left. When I thought I had 10 mins left it turned out I had nearly an hour. But I made it eventually...and was greeted with a great big hug from dad at the airport.

Now I'm back in freezing cold England wearing jumpers in bed and not getting enough sleep despite the jetlag. Just have to wait three weeks before I'm off again to another hot country...sunny old Africa!

Cambodia was amazing and I'm already planning my return trip in 2010 hopefully. I've met some amazing people and had the experience of a lifetime.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb