On the English Sea Side


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton
April 19th 2008
Published: April 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I do feel like I've been coming here to write a lot. Like every day.... but I've just been lucky to have a lot of easy internet access.

I am in Lewes now (pronouced like Lewis). I got up this morning, packed my things, ran around the corner to get a veggie breakfast (the first real hot meal i've had that wasn't a sandwhich!), ran back to the hostel to eat it and then checked out. I needed to get to Victoria Station (not Kings Cross, like I was hoping... which is the site of the Harry Potter platform), and that's an easy tube ride from the hostel. So with Ginnormo Green (aka my backpack), I got on the train. Except, even though I got on the Eastern line, it started going West. No problem, I get off at the next station, and cross the platform to go the right way... except that entire line is down. Apparently this is a regular occurence here on the weekends. There is actually a train on the other track, but it's not movie. So how do I go back west? Victoria station would be much too long of a walk for GG and I. Lucky for me there are two girls there looking at a map trying to figure it out. When I ask where they are going they say "Victoria".. me too. So we decide to split a cab.

Which brings me to my first car ride in London. I wish I could tell you something exciting happened, and other than me squirming a little because I always felt like we were headed straight toward on coming traffic but really we were just driving on the left side, nothing interested happened at all. Until we got to "victoria", and it was not the victoria i needed. Guess what? There's a victoria bus station, and a victoria train station. Again, lucky for me they happen to be close by. So I part ways with the two Australians (who are on their way to Turkey), and continue on in the cab. Magically, I figure out the train system right away (thanks to some internet help last night). You know what it felt like? HARRY POTTER. Except there was a wee bit of stress because the train split at one stop, but i figured it out! I got on my very own Hogwart's Express (Lewes Express), where there was even a trolly of sweets and drinks, and arrived in Lewes around 1:30.

I also found Judith easily. It's very cold and rainy right now, so I didn't explore the town yet, but it IS a postcard. Really. Like it is one. I don't think those buidings are real, i think they're giant postcards. Their house is a beautiful English home.. i imagine that Elizabeth Bennet would have been happy here. My room is also huge AND i have it to myself.... completely the opposite of the rest of my travels. The entire family is really really nice. It's been fun so far. They are so accomodating it's making me feel guilty. Today they took me to this amazing palace that King George built in Brighton. It was beautiful. I gasped when entering two rooms. Judith bought me a guide book, because you can't take pictures, but pictures don't do it justice at all. Then they took me for a drive by the famous Brighton Pier, i wish it wasn't rainy because it would have been lovely to walk around. On the drive home we passed rolling hills with sheep and a wind mill. Postcardville!

Then we came back here. Their daughter Sarah is 21 but a lot of fun to talk with, she's just getting ready for final exams. She'll graduate already this year because university is only 3 years. Dinner, was veggitarian, and then there was cake and.. again... i feel bad because they are so nice. And here I am typing away...

Tomorrow they have offered to drive for TWO hours to take me to Jane Austen's home. Seriously? I've said they didn't have to.. it's a long way.... I do want to see it--but I really don't want to be a pain!

Anyway I should not be a computer hog! Love and bunny hugs too all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb