November 2 - Bovington - The Tank Museum


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Weymouth
November 2nd 2012
Published: November 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Tiger II tankTiger II tankTiger II tank

The tank was coated with a material that prevented magnetic mines from sticking
November 2 – Weymouth – day 5 – Today doing homework on the Tank Museum in Bovington – Dorset. The museum is only a 1 ¾ walk from the wool train station. I’ll probably head over to the station here in Weymouth and get a return ticket from Wool to Weymouth. It looks cold outside but I see blue sky so it should be all right. It looks like the wind has died down a bit from Yesterday.

http://www.tankmuseum.org/ - tank museum – 2 1/2 miles walk from Wool train station. I took a cab for £6 each way.



Evening – I bought a return ticket to Wool from Weymouth. It was a pleasant train trip. The weather was beautiful but a tad cool for a Texan. When I got to Wool there were a couple of cabs sitting outside the train station and I took one to the Train Museum for £6.

The Tank Museum was awesome! They had so many tanks that after a very lengthy tour I was tired of looking at tanks. The Tiger II tank was huge. I wouldn’t want to be in a Sherman going up against it. After touring the museum I had the museum staff call me a cab and caught one back to Wool Train Station again for another £6. Then I caught the train back to Weymouth.

It had gotten definitely cold with a brisk wind blowing when I got back to Weymouth.

I went back to the hostel and cooked up a baked potato in the microwave. It really hit the spot with cheese, and butter and whole grain bread.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Sherman TankSherman Tank
Sherman Tank

The mainstay tank of the American Army in WW II was the Sherman Tank. It was mass produced on the theory of "overwhelming" the larger German tanks. Can't say I agree with a theory that has 4 or so American tank crews killed "overwhelming" a German tank.


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb