The South Coast Path - Durlston to Dancing Ledge


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Swanage
January 20th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The route


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The crashing waves 74 secs
As the last few weeks draw to a close, I'm mindful that I'll soon be heading off to the Arctic. Th;0e Arctic Circle is the parallel of latitude that runs 66° 33′39″. Temperatures currently seem to be fluctuating around -10c to -20c.

Last weekend we headed out along the coast path from Durlston in Swanage along to Dancing Ledge. You can never feel completely ready for a challenge like this, but my series of walks over the last few weekends the 14 flights of stairs I go up and down at work a couple of times a day at work and the circuit training excercises I've followed from my British Army Training programme I received free free the Guardian are certainly making me feel more comfortable.

As the walks get longer, I'm reminded that some people in the world travel hours a day just to find water. For me no matter how hard the weather gets, nothing can compare to that and the reasons I'm undertaking this challenge in the first place.

If you are ever visiting my home county of Dorset, the trip from Durlston to Dancing Ledge is stunning at any time of the year. Having
Industrial landscapeIndustrial landscapeIndustrial landscape

The ruins of the 18th century Tilly Whim Quarry.
received the status of World Heritage site some years ago, this stretch of the British Isles is now better known as the Jurassic Coast. Vistas across the sea in the Summer often give glimpses of dolphins and basking sharks. Alas there weren't any of these last weekend. Just the inspiring force of nature's waves crashing into this majestic landscape. I think the photos talk for themselves....




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Bulls on paradeBulls on parade
Bulls on parade

On the way back we were greeted by a load of Herefords
Corfe CastleCorfe Castle
Corfe Castle

How imposing it must have been when it was complete. It's a strong one, after all it's lasted all this time.


Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb