Old Harry Rocks - Dorset, UK


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Swanage
December 30th 2008
Published: December 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Old Harry Rocks is named after Privateer Harry Paye, plunderer of ships on Poole's Jurassic Coast during the 15th Century.

2 Pheasants, one brisket, one turkey, one lamb shoulder, one pork shoulder, 1 veggie pracel, one salmon and a load of lamb kebabs and some leftover soup, I'd definately indulged this Christmas. Today we hiked out to Old Harry Rocks in the Purbeck Hills, to walk off the Christmas load.

Training for February's Arctic Challenge is interspersed with bouts of beer, wine and chocolate, then followed by 30 pressups. I'm feeling good, and the closeness of the challenge is starting to dawn on me. You can never feel ready for such an Adventure over a Christmas period.

Today I found myself being able to identify the Burdock that I learnt about on my survival course only to find that the cold had meant it's roots had perished . Shame really as I was looking forward to it (though I'm not sure Helen was). Instead I settled for something that looked like a cabbage, bringing a few leaves back with me in the hope that my new Collins Food for Free books would identify it as something tasty.

Fingers crossed it's edible.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Old Nicks way - Dorset, UKOld Nicks way - Dorset, UK
Old Nicks way - Dorset, UK

Not too sure why it's called that...


Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb