Bring it on!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon
February 27th 2005
Published: February 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi!

Welcome to the first in hopefully a series of journals as I blog my way around Latin America over the next few months. If you’re here because you were invited, thanks very much for turning up, and I hope you’ll be back! If you’re just passing through then welcome to you, too!

So here I am, sat on my single bed in my old room at my Mum and Dad’s, writing lists, reading guide books, making piles of Useful Things; anxiously anticipating the next phase in my life.

On Friday I fly out to Ecuador. Three months later I fly back from Guatemala. And the intention right now is to jot down most of what happens in between in this blog, so tune in regularly! Having said that I’ve never managed to finish a single travel journal before, so in case I’m making wild promises that will never be kept, here’s the plan as it stands right now…

The first month or so I’ll be teaching English in the mountains of Ecuador. I’m really excited about this, I’ve been in touch with a few people that are out there at the moment, and it sounds amazing! More about that next week I guess, but for now, if you’re interested, here’s the link to the project I'll be working on Teaching in Ecuador.

After that I’m hoping to go to the Galapagos for a week or so, play with lots of friendly sealions! Then it all goes a bit fuzzy...! Got a few ideas - I quite fancy seeing some Mayan stuff in Guatemala and Southern Mexico, possibly do a bit more teaching, might hit Cuba and check out what that’s all about, or maybe just go lie on a beach and think about learning to surf! I’ll see what inspires me over the next few weeks and let you know!

With just a couple of days left to go I’m veering between bouncing off the walls with excitement, and worrying myself sick about it all, but I guess that’s entirely normal. Really, I've been building up to this for long enough, I need to get out there and start doing it!

Wish me luck ;-)

Cheers,

Ali

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb