Exeter with Camilla


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Exeter
June 8th 2007
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ExeterExeterExeter

View from the beach at Torquay
My first hot days in England. IT DIDN'T RAIN FOR 3 WHOLE DAYS... and it was sunny and while I don't think that I actually got a tan, I stopped loosing my tan for 3 days 😊 It makes such a difference to have photo's with blue sky in the background.

On Friday morning I caught the train from Southampton down to Exeter (south-west of London on the coast) where my cousin Camilla is at uni. When I left Southampton at 8am it was raining and cold and when I got off the train at midday it was warm and sunny with no clouds 😊 I got a tour of her uni and then we went into town where I saw Exeter Cathedral, which was huge. We went down to the river and had a few drinks in the sun and then headed for Torquay which is home to one of the best fish and chip restaurants.

Torquay beach was beautiful, the water was at the bottom of a cliff, so you had to walk down a steep pathway and then steps to get to it. Getting back up was a real problem. I haven't been for a
ExeterExeterExeter

Walkway to Torquay beach
run or a swim since I left Oz so I was feeling really unfit. Thankfully Camilla wasn't really an athlete either, so I didn't feel too bad 😊 It was worth the walk for the fish and chips. They were fantastic. Not soggy, but not too crispy. It tastes very different to the fish and chips in Australia. The only strange thing is that most people here seem to have their fish and chips with peas... or even stranger, which mushy peas. I keep laughing at picturing people in Australia on a beach opening their fish and chips and peas just scattering all over the sand 😊 Not very practical 😊

On the Saturday morning we went into town and had a better look at the Cathedral. We also went into a pub called The Well House Tavern where you can walk down into the basement and see an old well and an old skeleton that were found down there.

Camilla was in her last week of uni for the year, so we went to a pre exams party at a huge pub down on a canal for the rest of the afternoon... and evening. Drank lots and
ExeterExeterExeter

Torquay
lots of cider, played a bit of frisbee and spent most of the afternoon smalling a lovely hog roast that just never seemed to be ready yet. From there we ended up in Camilla's local pub and then on a 'Walkabout Pub' (an Aussie pub... serves a few Aussie beers (mostly fosters) and has a surfboard above the bar, yeah, they were playing oasis (English band incase you don't know), and most of the staff were Irish, didn't hear a single Aussie accent there, but they do serve Aussie burgers, yep, that's right, a hamburger, wait for it..... with beetroot!) so that I would feel a little more at home. We then ended up in a nightclub next to a castle... very strange, and finally headed home at about 3am so that I could catch my train back to Paul at 7:30am.

A great weekend away and I'm beginning to thing that drinking lots and lots and lots is a genetic thing 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

ExeterExeter
Exeter

Torquay Beach
ExeterExeter
Exeter

Fish and Chips for dinner with Camilla :) I've been spoilt now. The best fish and chips I've ever had... don't know about pea's with it though...
ExeterExeter
Exeter

Camilla and I at Torquay beach
ExeterExeter
Exeter

Exeter Cathedral
ExeterExeter
Exeter

The Well House Tavern. A pub in Exeter with an old well and a skeleton in the basement.
ExeterExeter
Exeter

The Well
ExeterExeter
Exeter

The Skeleton
ExeterExeter
Exeter

The Well House Tavern
ExeterExeter
Exeter

Drinking Cider on the canal.
ExeterExeter
Exeter

More Cider
ExeterExeter
Exeter

Out and about after the Cider.
ExeterExeter
Exeter

Found an old castle :)
ExeterExeter
Exeter

Curry at the end of a long hard night of drinking :)


27th June 2007

thanks
hey hey thank u so much for that call just before have to say not only has it made my day but made my week.. lol.. love u and miss u heaps. hope i did not talk on to much lol.. oh what was that site u just joined that susan and carolyn have too? forgot already maybe i should join to and make me a page lol. will give me something to do on my holidays. thanks again always good to hear ur happy voice
3rd July 2007

FOOD
Lucy, the best fish and chips in the world are in YORKSHIRE

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb