Preparing to go


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Chudleigh
May 9th 2011
Published: May 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Occasionally my children ignore my injunction not to buy me a Father's Day present. The result is often very a nice surprise. An example was yesterday when James presented me with an appropriately themed cycle shirt to take on the JoGLe. By the way don't panic as it was an early Father's Day present. I think I would have got it anyway irrespective of Father's Day but he only called it that to wind me up.
James gave me the present after completing the Shakespeare Marathon in 3hrs. 36min. This was his first marathon and he had done a lot of preparation, including reading and runs in the region of 20 miles. Like having a baby however I don't think that any amount of preparation can give you a clue as to what it will be really like. The poor boy was in agony immediately afterwards, mainly in his legs. It took a good few hours for him to recover. Final packing in hand and hopefully my next entry will be when I am in JoG, the evening before the start.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

BeforeBefore
Before

with uni friends Chris and Naomi
AfterAfter
After

I don't know who was in greater agony; James, or us having to watch.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb