Ready for anything (except surprises)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Buckfastleigh
October 15th 2005
Published: October 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The trip so far

I will add points to this trip as I continue.

So I’ve just quit my job. And not a second too soon, I might add, since I just discovered a 2p arcade. You know the ones? Where you drop the 2 pences in and watch as you deliberately lose all your money in 5 minutes. Spent most of my last day’s wages on that thing. The tragic thing is, I feel it was money well spent.

And after spending most nights this week co-creating a website that has become a bit crazy - www.pumpupthedots.com - to those pondering if I’ve created another pointless concept, I’m about ready to depart this glorious country.

It’s all come together surprisingly well; better than I thought it would do a month ago. I’ve been jabbed in the arms, stuffed my bag with 52 packs of malaria tablets, read through the insurance small-print, over-used the local newsagent’s photocopier, got myself a bit of cash, and transferred my entire CD collection to a clever piece of hardware. Woo!

There’s nothing like the feeling of being prepared. And for once, I actually am…which sod’s law means I’ll be eating my words in a few days. My bag weighs a hefty 17kg, which I’ve been assured by Will is not too bad, and can only get lighter as I chuck unwanted things away later.

I’ve added a groovy little map highlighting my rough itinerary for anyone wanting to stalk me, or is bored. If anyone wants to visit me at any point, please get in touch - my remoteness on this trip will not extend beyond a local internet point, and access to hotmail. And I’ll be grateful of a friendly face.

So in short: Dad to Exeter, Megabus to London, Tube to JP’s house, Tube to Heathrow, Amsterdam (because it’s cheaper apparently), Toronto, coach to Hamilton, by Tuesday 18th. Simple. Something’s therefore bound to go wrong. I’ll be in touch!



Advertisement



16th October 2005

17 kilos!
17 kilos!! lightweight tastic, mine was 34 coming back from australia!!
16th October 2005

I'm going to be expecting a call from you soon then!
16th October 2005

im so jealous - why dont i do exciting things with my life Wishing you all the best Si, and good luck in carrying your 17kg bag! lol leanne
17th October 2005

Envy - a deadly sin
As always wadders utterly envious of your globetrotting, have a great time and spare a thought for the unemployed graduate lad left behind in rainy sunderland :-) Ill be lookin to the sky my friend thinkin of u whenever a plane passes by (tho I live near an airport so will probably get bored pretty fast)Take care bud!
17th October 2005

.............hOmo. Have fun lil guy. A postcard per week will suffice.
17th October 2005

JP's house? No no no, it's my OLD house, not his. Sigh... Ah well, not to worry. You'll be here in glorious NYC soon. Can't wait. Hope everything goes smoothly! Much much love, Cxx
17th October 2005

On your way at last
Glad all is going smoothly so far and hope you've got the travel wash and sandwich bags - They seem to come in handy for so many things! Also may I applaud you on your use of the megabus - my fave form of transport! julia x
18th October 2005

you beat me to the off...
ah mr wadders. finally off from good old blighty i see. sadly for me all the those last minute things you mention completing are the headaches of my existence at the moment. looks more likely daily that india first stop, with no preperation, will definately throw us in at the deep end and cause various hilarious but deadly consequences. still i look forward to a well earned beer in new zealand with your bed self sometime in december. i'll be in touch when i can through the darkest depths of asia, but if not will be in auckalnd 16th december, disasters dependent. see you soon dude.marc
19th October 2005

Come visit Washington DC
Glad to see you on the move, would love for you to hop down for a few days, Grace and Colin are tracking on a world map. Phill
25th October 2005

glad to be part of ur trip, meeting up in nyc was cool! it's been a longgggg time!!! best of luck with the rest of ur journey!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb