Derbyshire 182 - Chesterfield- Allotments and the Maharishi Maharesh Yogi


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire » Chesterfield
October 12th 2020
Published: October 12th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Week 41 - 279 days of the year have gone already . There are 87 left until we see the back of 2020. What is this week going to bring? A course of moving about at home . I should Skype and join it but not sure that I will. It is Monday and the start of another week . I could have laid in this morning but Monday is swimming day. I looked out of the window and it was dark . The last few days have started dark . It is normal for this time of the year. It wont get lighter for another few weeks when the clocks change . Today I decided to be positive . What did it matter if it were dark this morning ? It would lighten up eventually. My thoughts for the day were written by the mystic Mahareshi Mahesh Yogi who spent time with the Beatles . He said that "We must learn to take life less seriously and to laugh" So that is what I am going to do . Monday - I smiled at the thought of it and what I would do . I had that fixed smile of a synchronised swimmer as I swam length after length. The ceiling needs painting I thought . It is looking jaded . Perhaps they could have painted it whilst closed from March to July. The colours caught my eye . The sun shining in through the windows . The blues of the pool . The tiles turning the water blue coloured .An illusion for the eye.

I smiled over breakfast . I smiled over coffee and cake . I thought whats the point of worrying whats going to happen to day . It will happen because of me or despite me .

Tuesday - another dull and miserable day . Too dark to walk at 6.45. I had to wait until 7.15 . We are off up Swarthick Road . Past the posh houses . There is still colour in the gardens . The last of the roses are still trying their best to cheer us up . I smiled at them . The words of the Maharishi rang in my ears. I was going to smile all day and make the most of it . What if it rains ? Who cares - the sun will shine through . There were signs of Spring amongst all the Autumn colours . Catkins just starting to bud . By Spring they will be hanging prettily . I wont be seeing them . We are going down the allotments . I wondered if I would have liked an allotment . Yes they are a lot of work but worth it growing all those vegetables . There was no-one there . The place was deserted . I would need a rotivator to clear the soil . But it would be worth it . The Autumn colours would be there in the allotment, The yellows and reds of the squashes . The red tomatoes . It all felt lovely but quiet .

The Stubbing Pond was quiet. Not a soul about until I reached Pearces Lane . A man with a dog . Why did he not walk on the correct side of the road I wondered ? We were always taught to walk with our faces towards oncoming traffic. He was walking with his back towards the traffic . He made me cross over . The next people I saw commented on him walking on the wrong side . We discussed how people nowadays dont understand walking on the right side of the road . I still smiled .

Wednesday Hump day - dark and gloomy the sun was not shining . Swimming . I didnt need the sun to swim . This mornings words of wisdom were similar to the words of the Indian mystic who inspired Paul McCartney and George Harrison . This time it was Sai Chinmoy " You will not have to run after happiness , Happiness will run after you" That cheered me up. I worked hard all day - the usual buzz meetings , the usual courses and a letter from the solicitor telling us that everything was ready bar for the signing on our new home . We just had to call in and sign up . That can wait until next week. My computer programme packed up. I thought no rush as the sale is a week and a bit behind and no doubt the computer will come on tomorrow . I drank wine . Covid wasnt going to ruin our party .

Thursday - More work . More swimming . I was still happy . Nothing was going to stop me smiling . And then there was Friday - the end of the week . Tier 1 , 2 and 3 . they are the new buzzwords coming out from the government . Tier one at the bottom - things are not too bad and we dont need to shut down too many things . Tier 2 - a bit worse , close the pubs , stop meeting outside . Tier 3 - almost back to closed down society again . Ah well I am still smiling through gritted teeth .

Advertisement



12th October 2020

Keep on smiling!
How could you forget that this is 2020!
13th October 2020

forgetfulness
Well Bob they say with Covid you lose your sense of smell and taste. I wonder if it makes you get so muddled that you dont know your 2010's from your 2020's? I shall have to try harder
13th October 2020

Maharishi wisdom
One of the things the Maharishi taught me - though it took me while to learn - was to value the little pleasures in life. The big pleasures are rare and the reward is fleeting; The little pleasures are always there and last forever. The rich smell of a flower; the beauty of a butterfly or a water-dragon; the bitter-sweet taste of an orange; the smell of rain when it has laid the dust. Learn to enjoy these "small" things and the world is always a joyful place.
16th October 2020

Lovely thoughts
Yes the smell of flowers . I like the small things in life .
16th October 2020

Lovely thoughts
Yes the smell of flowers . I like the small things in life .
16th October 2020

Lovely thoughts
Yes the smell of flowers . I like the small things in life .

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb