Derbyshire 148 - Chesterfield /another scorching day/what I would give for a swim /It is wine o'clock


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Derbyshire » Chesterfield
June 25th 2020
Published: June 25th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Day 95 and I have covered more than 282 miles under lockdown . I am amazed at how many miles I have walked and got nowhere . Start off from home and end up at home. As I walked I wondered how many miles it was around the Earth (At home checked t'interweb the oracle and it told me 24, 901 - so only another 24,619 more miles to walk and I can say I have circumnavigated the globe by foot ). Not far then. I wondered how far I had reached by now . To what distant place had my feet taken me if I had not just kept returning home. From home to the tunnel, across the La Manche and then on the way through France . I have not got far through France - still a long way to go and I have been walking for so long.

Today is Wednesday - Hump Day . Shopping Day . The sun was yet again streaming through the window . I could see it was going to be a hot one . The need to get out shopping early was great . Get out before the heat builds up. Get out for the walk before it gets too hot . Shopping is never a pleasure . The click and collect man was sitting in his van waiting for his customers to pick up their groceries . There was a very short queue - three in before me . The older lady with her mask and her husband were not there . The lady in front of me was a regular . The queue was a bit like a snake going round the corner . A snake trying to catch up with a tail it would never catch . The staff opened exactly on 7am and let us in. No rush just an orderly queue . I wandered round the aisles . I could do it in my sleep . Apart from the one way system which has changed my route slightly.

There were the usual slow shoppers . Stopping at the shelf , picking the items up and putting them back . I ambled past them and through them. The one way system as always lost on them. I wished we could get back to normal but it is a long way from that .

At home with shopping packed away, coffee drank and off for the walk . What I would give for a swim ? So much easier on the back . My feet were aching . The sun does nothing for feet. As I walked I couldnt help but want the chiropodist to open up . No sign of that . The hairdresser . So many things we take for granted . On my walk I saw few people. The runners had been out earlier . The dog walkers back home .

Are we any closer to getting GAbby on the road ? Not really but she does have her nice new windscreen and we even managed to save our German emission sticker.

.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb