20 weeks and counting ...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria
May 9th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

** RECOVERD LOST BLOG ENTRY **

Well ... I think we have a date ... 8th October ... seems like ages away - but will come around really fast as we have so much to do! We can now put the house up for sale (if we ever finish the bloody thing!).

This date also means that I will get to spend my last birthday in the UK with my family and friends and also one last summer over here!

On a bit of a downer after a few enquiries found out that altough it is relatively cheap to ship over the car to AUS once there we have to pay an import tax which was estimated for us @ £10 - 20K!!! So Doug has to finish the car and either sell it or keep it in storage over here in the UK.

I think I have become a bit of list freak and have started writing lists of lists or lists etc... I feel like we have so much to do and the more I think of it the more I write my damn lists!!!

On a more positive note (or on my positive
DoggiesDoggiesDoggies

My little doggies diggin their way to Oz!
list for today!) we have finally got the new camera working so we will be able to upload piccies in the blogs (I am such a tehno bimbo!).

Our hols in Oz last November now feels like a lifetime ago but I can also remember the exact moment that it clicked in my head that I wanted to move over to Oz and that was sat in a pub in Sydney with Debs & Stu ( Hi Guys!! ) and the same song kept getting played over and over "Men at Work and Down Under" and everyone in the pub singing along really proud to be Australian ... I have never seen that kind of patriotism before and it actually made me feel like I wanted to be a part of it all. Plus the weather and wine are great over there!

It has also been 6 years to the day that we first step foot in Australia ... the only reason we first went to Oz was after a really, really bad time in Halkidiki (or as we renamed it HELL..kadiki - long story - concrete beds, stray dogs and rain - although Doug did turn in to the best barman ever when the real bar manager left leaving the bar unattended so Doug ended up behind the bar giving away free ouzo to everyone and feeding all the stray dogs cheese & ham toasties!!!)

Whilst there we met a really great greek lad called Foti who owned a bar. Although he was greek he spoke english but with an Australian accent .. bizarre!!. One afternoon he spent his break telling us how great AUS was and that we should visit Cairns .. he drew us maps of the best places to visit. So the next year we booked flights and went. On a second trip out to Oz the year after we were having a meal in a restaurant in Palm Cove, Cairns and realised that the chef was infact Foti - small world!!

Over the weekend we went to the Lake District to visit Doug's gran. We went to her 99th birthday party!! Had a great day and was really good to catch up with with all the family. We going to try our best to get home for her 100th birthday next year!

So for all those who know me and how I like to have my little countdown clocks for hols to count the months, weeks, days, hours and seconds .. I have officially strated the mega countdown to Oz ... yippee :0)



Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb