The End


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cornwall » St Just
May 29th 2011
Published: May 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

RehydratingRehydratingRehydrating

Quite good but not as good as the Doombar.
Arrived at St Just with the luxury of knowing that there are only 5 miles to go and with luck very little hill climbing. Each morning I have been very pleased with what seems like a good recovery from the day before but by the afternoon I want it to be over asap. The only comfort is that the more miles I do is less to do later. The cycle route I chose for the final days was National Cycle Route 3. The designers of this route are determined that you will not miss out on the lovely coves that predominate in Cornwall. This means that there are a lot of very steep downs and ups of which I had had enough. I abandoned this the NCR 3 after Truro while preferring the B roads that run parallel to the A30. I rejoined it after Hayle.
I managed to cook myself a nice meal at the hostel whilst listening to the other incumbents torturing themselves watching "the match".
The hostel was full and I shared my bedroom with 6 other men. With the ratio of loud snorers likely being less than 6 to 1 my night was interrupted by the inevitable sounds that keep me awake and get me more and more angry with the perpetrator. I say to myself "what does it matter" particularly as I had not far to go the next day with plenty of time to do it. Despite their inability to do much about it I think of all sorts of reasons as to why I should be protected by such behaviour.
I was met at lands End by Sally and Peter who had brought Mary with them. They conveyed me and my bike home via a hostelry where I was bought lunch along with a couple of pints of Doombar. It was a strangely emotional experience. I could hardly grasp the fact that I have travelled the length of the country in one go. I think the bike has suffered but my body feels much the same as when I started out. No aches or pains, no saddle soreness.
I want to thank all of you who have encouraged and supported me throughout this journey. This includes the messages of encouragement; riding along side of me; putting me up for the night and also by supporting Medic Malawi with your donations.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

RehydratingRehydrating
Rehydrating

Not as good as the Doombar


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb