4 days to go....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire » Wirral
May 30th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My Bon Voyage Cake!My Bon Voyage Cake!My Bon Voyage Cake!

My Dad stuck a candle in my nose!
Hello everyone! As everyone who has been in earshot of me in the last 3 months will know I am off to Oz for a year, and it has got scarily close now - I leave on Monday! I am still very very very excited but the nerves are kicking in a little now. I dreamt I got lost at the airport last night - not good! Today I am doing all the boring stuff like updating my CV, scanning documents and practice packing, again. This is why I thought I'd do a practice post here to see if everything works okay.

Thanks again to everyone who has made my social calender so busy in the last 3 months. I have had 3 great official leaving nights out and countless meals, drinks and days out. Thanks also for the cards, gifts and kind words, they are all very much appreciated.

My travel itinery for Monday is as follows, I depart from Manchester Airport at 0815 (have to arrive at airport 3 hours earlier as it's the first leg of an international flight!!). I arrive at Heathrow Airport at 0925 (although suspect it will be earlier than that!). Then
WorkWorkWork

Ego's Mediterranean Restaurant, Liverpool L-R Ediri, Shireen, Sonja, Stephen, David, Jan, Mark, Jacqui, Helen, Lynne, Me, Lynn, Mary
I board Qantas Airways at 1215 to arrive at Sydney Kingsford Airport (via one stop at Singapore to refuel) at 1850 Australian Time. This flight is a gruelling 21 hours and 35 minutes. I have made a couple of local travel buddies who I plan to meet at Manchester Airport to make the flight a little more bearable!

Well I should go back to my final few jobs, I hope this reaches you without any problems. I'll leave you all with a few photos from my various leaving do's. Comments are very welcome!

Next stop, Sydney, Australia!




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Bye Bye Work!Bye Bye Work!
Bye Bye Work!

Me and Mohammad in the office.
Family Meal Family Meal
Family Meal

Ying King Chinese Restaurant, Wallasey. The waitress had problems fitting everyone in the photo hence a close up of my face!! L-R Me, Katie, Lorna, Darren's head, Dad, Steve, Eileen, Callum, Pauline, Linda, Georgia, Jen (Grandma and Aunty Pam cut out of picture!!)
The Birches!The Birches!
The Birches!

Jen, Grandma and Aunty Pam.
Final Do!Final Do!
Final Do!

La Tasca Tapas Restaurant, Liverpool. The best attempt at getting everyone in the photo! L-R (Back) Chris, Kenny, Clare, Kirsty, Deiniol, Steve (Middle L-R) Stu, Sian, Jen, Helen, Rob, Anna, Rich (Front L-R) Me and Jennie
Around the tableAround the table
Around the table

La Tasca Tapas Restaurant, Liverpool. Fitting everyone in the photo proved difficult! L-R Sian, Me, Jen, Kirsty, Deiniol, Helen, Rich, Kenny, Jennie, Steve, Anna, Rob
Me and the boys!Me and the boys!
Me and the boys!

Andy, Me and Mike. Reflex 80's Bar, Liverpool.


30th May 2007

Long Flight
Hi Catherine, Thanks for sending me an update - I hope you've been getting in some fitness training for that long flight! I enjoyed looking at the photos! Keep in touch Stephen
30th May 2007

jeez it cant be!
What 4 days to go,never! seems rather close now but you will make it and have the time of your life,enjoy yourself love dad xxxx
30th May 2007

Good Luck!
Good luck hun! I can't believe that you are going next week. But I'm really excited for you; you are going to have such a good time! Also, I love the picture of us all on the steps, we look like your backing singers and dancers! lol! Send us lots of pictures and updates while you are out there. Love Anna x
30th May 2007

It's Almost the Big Day!
Can't believe its only 4 days till you go.I'll miss you absolutely loads but I'm sure the time will whizz over and we'll wonder where the last 12 months went! You'll have a great time and i'm sure you'll have plenty of funny tales to tell when you get back. Have a fantastic time, and i'll look forward to reading all your updates and looking at all your pic's on your blog. Have a wonderful time! Loads of love Jennie and Steve xxx
31st May 2007

Bon Voyage!
The photo's are lovely, Catherine. I hope you enjoy your last few days here, and feel excited at the prospect of the big adventure ahead of you!!! Have a great time and keep in touch (hope you've got loads of magazines for the flight!) take care and speak soon, Jan xxx
31st May 2007

Good luck
Hi Catherine, I loved the pictures. Have fun, and good luck. By the way it's singleton. Mohammad Othman
1st June 2007

Goodbye and Goodluck
Thankyou for your message and the pictures. I am so sorry not to have caught up with you before you go. I see that everyone has given you a great send off and I wish you well on your big adventure. Have a great time and take care of yourself. Charles X
1st June 2007

not long now
not long now.....you must be getting very very excited and nervous. Remember Feel the Fear and do it anyway. Its always easier to do something than worry about it. Take care Catherine it will be a great adventure, I will keep in touch, my thoughts are with you Love and hugs Valxxx
2nd June 2007

Two days to go...
Hi Catherine, Good luck and take good care of yourself. We'll be thinking of you! Love Sigi, Renate and Leonie PS: We like the photo of the "three graces" best.
2nd June 2007

Ive taken your hint! :o)
Wow dont know whats more shocking that your actually going (OMG!!) or that Ive finally added a blog comment after much hint dropping ;o) I know your going to have some of the best times of your life so live every day to the full and stay safe lil sis! Yes I am jealous I WANT TO GO!!!! but am made up for you and will miss you lots make sure you take loads of pics and keep us all up to date with your goings on! Love ya loads!
3rd June 2007

Not long now.....
Take care and most of all enjoy it. We will miss you even if the old buggers don't!!!!
4th June 2007

by the time you read this....
hey hun! i cant believe by the time u read this u will be at the other side of the world! im sure u will have a fantastic time out there! an if i had the bottle to do it then i would be joining you!! keep us all up to date with ur goings on out there and dont forget to give us your new mobile number!! going to miss u loads , looking forward to ur next blog! take care love kirsty and deiniol xxxxxxx

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb