Converting the Duke - Phase 7: The Kitchen Units


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire » Nantwich
May 11th 2008
Published: January 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Phase 7 - the Kitchen


In preparation for the rock-n-roll bed in a week or so, I thought I'd get the kitchen units in some kind of shape. As I'm a very respectable 'average' handy man I recruited Mossy to assist with this bit. He's more accustomed to making streamlined commemorative cricket bats out of 8 be 2's but he said he'd have a go. Mossy's good to work with because he's good banter and he has a very strong appreciation for the great British brew. He averages about 6 a day on a regularly day and naturally it has to be accompanied with a biscuit or two. Still he was on the clock (on my time) so I kept the banter up and the brews to a minimum.

It's all about Recycling!!


I got one of the kitchen units out of Steve's caravan. It was a little bit faffy to get the unit out and take the fridge out of it, but worth the effort. I decided against keeping the fridge as I didn't want to get involved in adding a second battery to the van. So I doctored a second unit - formerly a drawer unit I picked up cheaply from my buddy Brian in Edinbra - that would house my cooler.

In an afternoon's work we managed to get the front units in pretty good shape and make a start on the back cupboard. I didn't want to get the doors fitted until the next job was complete - fitting the rock-n-roll bed. As I may have to doctor the units to fit.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

The back panelThe back panel
The back panel

This will be a full length cupboard for wetsuits to hang and camping chairs/windbreaks etc
The units in placeThe units in place
The units in place

The front section will remain open for the cooler - with another shelf for other camping gear
Units in placeUnits in place
Units in place

The first cupboard will have a door and shelf (perhaps drawer) for storage. The second will house the gas tank for the hob


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb