Converting the Duke - Phase 6: The side door step


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire » Nantwich
April 27th 2008
Published: January 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Laying the Side Door Step


Topping off the floor the next job was to insert the new plastic lining for the side step of the van. Having bartered the guy from CMC down from £35 to £35 (I'm a fully trained negotiator - its what I do) I was pleased with my bargain - at least he told me I should be, as he chased me off with a wrench in his hand.

The Watchful eye of big John


This was a little tricky trying to match up the ply with the step - just a question of trial and error. In this case, lots of trials and lots of errors - but I got there in the end. It was made all the more pleasurable with John (the nextdoor neighbour) watching over me, and wondering how many times I needed to trim the board. Anyway, I eventually sealed the deal with some sealant, which so far has held okay.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The off-cutsThe off-cuts
The off-cuts

Erring on the side of caution, this gives you an idea of just how cautious I had been. I made about 10 trips from my bench to the van (about 30 calories each trip), shaving about half a mil off each time - A guaranteed fat burner!


Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb