Chester


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire » Chester
July 23rd 2006
Published: October 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So begins the start of my solo trip and first stop is Chester. It was talked up a lot in my guidebooks but now that I'm here I can't say that I understand the hype. Chester is very tourist dominated, and yes the old black and white "Magpie" houses are nice, but they can't help but feel a little fake, as if they're deliberatly on show just for the tourists - which of course, they mostly are. Whatever Chester's charms are, I'm not really seeing them. Glad I'm only here for one night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Queen's Jubilee Clock in downtown ChesterQueen's Jubilee Clock in downtown Chester
Queen's Jubilee Clock in downtown Chester

Apparently the second most photographed clock in UK after Big Ben. Not sure why though..
Main street ChesterMain street Chester
Main street Chester

and the hordes of tourists
Chester's 'famous' town wallsChester's 'famous' town walls
Chester's 'famous' town walls

A bit overrated if you ask me..
Exhausted at the Chester hostelExhausted at the Chester hostel
Exhausted at the Chester hostel

and yes that IS what I look like in glasses, and no you may not laugh


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb