A great few days in Chester


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cheshire » Chester
July 30th 2010
Published: July 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

July 2010 was a busy but interesting month for me. On 14 July I had an exam in geology and the following Saturday I started summer school in British geological history in Northern England. The few days in between I went to Chester, a city I have wanted to visit for years but never had got around to travel to before. So finally my first holiday in Chester!!

Chester was first founded by the Romans as a fort called Deva Victrix and there are still a few Roman remains. However, it is probably the beautiful "Tudor" houses in the city centre the visitors will notice first. The Chester Rows have a long history but are today arcade-like structures. It is a very unique and pleasant experience walking around exploring the architecture.

I also went to see the cathedral, went on a 30 min boat cruise on the River Dee and walked the 3 km long walk on the old city walls. I would like to go back to Chester one day, maybe as a start point for a big tour of Wales.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb