Cambridge, Milton Keyne and Oxford...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire
September 19th 2022
Published: October 10th 2022
Edit Blog Post

I've been back for over a month on the road...shall we say it's back to the old days. Part of the trip was business, part leisure, and even a great part for a cool family visit. So no, I'm not going to blog about Congo or Belgium. But rather, I'm going to give you this blog and a little side trip to Bulgaria that happened over 2 weeks ago in the next blog. Back in the skies...not a lot have changed if it for full flights...and some airlines raring better at treating frequent travelers than others.



I had to go back to my travel blog history to find about my last trips to England. Interesting, the last time I was in London, was the exact same day of Trouping the Colors, and I did see the Queen in the streets with thousands of others. Two weeks later, still in 2016, I landed in the from the Caribbean to find out that Britain did vote for the no to remain into the EU.



So this morning, I'm landing from Brussels. I was only in Brussels for breakfast as I was on a connecting flight from Kinshasa where not only did I work a little, but there was some solid golf too with the Open de Kinshasa. My flight to Brussels was packed on Brussels Airlines, so I was quite happy to have landed a good deal in premium economy. This is only one of the 7 airlines I'm on over a period of 35 days.



Landing at 10am, and the Queen funerals where just on the way. I made my way out of the airport before the stop of few minutes to pay the respect to the Queen. This time, I'm not going to London, but I'm renting a car till tomorrow late afternoon to explore around London.

I have stopped long ago to count how many time I visited London. But funny enough, I never ventured into Cambridge or Oxford. Job done! I spent nearly three hours in Cambridge with my private local guide, Sandrine, who I last saw around 28 years ago. Doesn't make us younger!

Next, I hit the road again and slept in Milton Keynes. This is. "somehow new city"...interesting architectural point of view, but I would not live here. Night done...next morning first stop was the outlets in Bicester. I must be completely out of fashion ...how people those days can they buy so many ugly stuffs! Done, next an afternoon in Oxford.

Cambridge is way cutter than Oxford. Oxford has the Thames and more stunning buildings.

I didn't had the time to visit any of the colleges in any of the places, so I'll have to come back.

Landing in Heathrow Monday morning...Tuesday evening I was already in the plane...first stop...back to Istanbul just for the transit.

Next, it's all about golf...and potatoes fields as well as a flat sea...




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0651s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb