Kiev, last little stop of a long train ride...


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Kiev
August 17th 2013
Published: August 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Done, 12 nights...four nights in trains, that's only 1700kms in something like a total of 50 hours of train...I know, it's the slow way! But most of them were pretty comfortable...and actually fun rides all along.



8 nights spent in more than decent hotels and clean beds....in 5 countries I had never seen before....and to few places I would be more than happy to come back in the future...one day...



My last stop, Kiev for 50 hours...sleeping in another decent hotel right in the middle of town. This entry was about food...churches...and a lot of walking around...a very interesting and beautiful city, in which I would be happy to come back one day.



Sadly, the Opera House is on holidays for August, and I found the information for the Philharmonic, a little too late for another culture evening. I would have loved to assist to one more concert. Tickets are cheap...really cheap...and quality is pretty amazing. Only issue, in august, they play only 3 or 4 times a week...and not the day I wanted...Kiev, I'll be back. But I found the food....and some great food!



Borsh...from Ukraine...Pelmeni from Russia...Varenyky...from Ukraine. You all know what is borsh, but Varenyky are dumplings, with potatoes, mushrooms or other berries....and it's pretty yammie...Food here is a little more expensive than in Romania or Bulgaria...but still pretty cheap...and trust me...portions are big! I could spend days discovering more...like those stuffed peppers...yammie too!




The first day, I joined one more tour....fun people, nice guide...for a visit of the modern Ukraine...aka, anything that happened after 1920's. What is impressive in this city are the mix of pre-communist period...communist period...independence in 1991...and than the Orange Revolution in 2004. A new country...with a serious past. Was interesting also to find out that Lenin...never set foot here!



Next morning, another three hours tour, this time it was more about the Churches and the pre-communist period...fun fact...this morning, we have as a guide, the Mum of our guide yesterday afternoon...I have to admit, Mum was more knowledgeable than her son.



We visited first St Michael...destroyed by the Communists, and rebuilt the last 20 years...amazing! Than on to the beautiful St George...what a jewel. I visited later on by myslef St Sofia...with an amazing vista from the Bell Tower and finished by the Vladimir Cathedral...Kiev...what a beautiful city!



Sorry, didn't spent my nights going through the bars and the nightlife...I know, one or two of my friends will be shocked.



Two weeks on the road...time to go back to Luxembourg to celebrate Leslie's birthday....big 13th...and this time, I took the plane...slightly faster! But before this, last shopping and stocking on some oscietra caviar. Not as nice as beluga, but not really the same price...and still pretty nice...Leslie enjoyed...Tiffany...less!



No more Eastern Europe...for few weeks. I'm between Luxembourg and Belgium for the next three weeks....than it's two more weeks in Congo...before going back on the road...with Leslie and Tiffany....



So no entries for a while....before the big next big trip...end of September....


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb